PDA

View Full Version : Sensitvity

tom1040
12-25-2009, 02:31 PM
Okay. Why is the JBL 1400 Array's sensitivity rating 'low'. 89. The rest of the current "higher end" JBL's horn speakers are around 92-95.

Is it because of the area that most of the sales are going to-Asian marketplace? Can someone please explain this and also explain why a 400 wpc amp may not be enough for speakers rated for a maximum amp of 300 wpc? This has been bugging me.:banghead:

Thank you.

4313B
12-25-2009, 02:57 PM
The LE14H-3 has a nominal sensitivity rating of 91 dB plus or minus 1 dB (2.83V @ 1m). The answer to your question can be seen in the voltage drive to the LE14H-3 in the 1400 Array:

300 wpc should be plenty for a pair of 1400 Arrays in a typical living room unless you like ringing ears and eventual hearing loss.

tom1040
12-28-2009, 11:48 AM
Thanks. If you say so. I am an accountant not an engineer, Jim.:)I guess my question gets down the the notion that horn speakers are usually higher in sensitivity, are they not? Perhaps this is not true for all horn speakers.

Robh3606
12-28-2009, 12:14 PM
Perhaps this is not true for all horn speakers.

Normally it depends on what the woofer sensitivity is. If you want a good solid low end like you get from the LE-14 or 2235 you sacrifice efficiency to get it. But it also depends on the type of horn used as well. If you do a passive compensation on a CD horn you attenuate the midrange and again that can also set what the maximum sensitivity is for the system. Case in point would be a 4435 for that example. Once you try to push things beyond about 96dB the passive compensation won't work and you loose the top octave.

Rob:)

JoMoCo
12-28-2009, 12:16 PM
If your amplifier is an auto former output as stated in your other thread...then low impedance, current / voltage demand / sensitivity are factors your auto-transformer output circuit is designed to interface-modulate-filter back to the amplifier a more benign load. :yes: