PDA

View Full Version : Altec model 19 owners...important info....

rontec
12-16-2009, 09:20 PM
Hello to all. I've been visiting this forum for the past six months and have found some very useful information. So, when I discovered something concerning my Altec 19's this evening, I decided to register and share this information with others. I hope this is the correct forum and that this information is not old news.
I've owned my 19's since 1985 and noticed in recent months that when comparing them to my ADS 1290/2s and my Energy Veritus 2.3's the high frequencies were not as outstanding as they used to seem, even though the dynamics and soundstage were still tremendous. Also, adjusting the HF and MF levels did not change the tone as much as it use to seem to do.
Anyway, I took the route of changing out the capacitors, but it made no improvement. Infact, I didn't like it as much. So, this evening I put the old capacitors back in and noticed that there are four ground lugs rivited to the crossover board. I began to wonder if oxidation had built up between the lugs and the board over the last 25 years. I soldered a common wire to all four lugs and then connected the wire to the negative side of the speaker wire, thus bypassing the lugs. Eureka!
The change in sound quality is unbelieveable. Everything improved, dynamics, soundstage, imageing. IMHO, if you have some 19's, before you do anything else, bypass those ground lugs by connecting them dirrectly to the neg. speaker wire. The magic is back!

TnTn
12-19-2009, 01:11 PM
This is good info. Thanks for sharing. Have you tried putting the new caps back in?

rontec
12-19-2009, 04:18 PM
This is good info. Thanks for sharing. Have you tried putting the new caps back in?

TnTn-