PDA

View Full Version : Speaker Cable...quick recommendations

Punch
12-15-2009, 11:47 AM
I did a search and it was pretty extensive.

A few questions:

McIntosh MA6500 IA to the 250Ti's

#1 Speaker cable recommendations? I was going to go with the Kubala-Sonsa with Spades for $250/pr for 7' I am a cable novice, and I am not sure I need to spend that much though I know others spend A LOT more.

#2 I will keep experimenting with the room, but is there an ideal distance between the speakers (audio stand is equidistant between them)? Should I be 6' on each side (12' apart total)...7'...8'??? I was not sure how much cable to get....I do not want it too long, but I also do not want it too short so I cannot spread them out even further if needed.

Thanks.

hjames
12-15-2009, 12:20 PM
Why spend big money on cables when you can spend it on music instead?
check the last half dozen or so posts in this thread -
http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23092

Go to the 6 Moons site and look up the White Lghtning Moonshine cable article - basically its a white Walmart 40' extension 3-wire cord with the ends cut off and dual banana connectors soldered on. I bought 2 cords, cut them in half and made 2 pairs of 20' cables for my biamp monitors.

BMWCCA recommended it and I'll vouch for the quality sound!

For non-Biamp use, its $8 for the cable and maybe $24 for 4 high end connectors - certainly worth trying!

Markertek order for 8 of each (each cable needs one dual at each end)

8 [NYS508-B] Neutrik NYS508-B Dual Banana Plug - Black @$1.70/ea = $13.60
8 [NYS508-R] Neutrik NYS508-R Dual Banana Plug - Red @$1.78/ea = $14.24
http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=42820&stc=1&d=1258163589

A few questions:

McIntosh MA6500 IA to the 250Ti's

#1 Speaker cable recommendations? I was going to go with the Kubala-Sonsa with Spades for $250/pr for 7' I am a cable novice, and I am not sure I need to spend that much though I know others spend A LOT more.