PDA

View Full Version : 250Ti Official Thread

Punch
12-12-2009, 09:11 AM
Since my WTB ad for my 250Ti's had almost 5,000 hits, I thought that I could continue my questions here along with a picture, history, and set-up thread.

The 250Ti's are getting delivered this morning. I just checked out this thread during a search, and I thought to build upon it:

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/s...ight=250ti+bus (http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19243&highlight=250ti+bus)

I am trying to think of what else I can do to them while the drivers are out and getting refoamed. Even though I have been into hi-fi for almost 30 of my 39 years, I am a newbie at certain levels.

Do I need to do any useful mods while they are apart? Anything with the interconnects? The bus bars? The crossovers? Any upgrading at all?

Thanks....I will post pictures of the drop off and set-up later.

Robh3606
12-12-2009, 09:19 AM
The most obvious answer is to build a pair of Charge Coupled crossovers for them.

Rob:)

mike
12-12-2009, 12:54 PM
The biggest obstacles in enjoying your 250Ti's will be getting used to their lack of coloration, placing them in the right room, and finding the right amp and preamp for them; not that any one of these things is that hard.
I wouldn't worry about modifying them.

Mike

Punch
12-12-2009, 01:39 PM
Even though the one needs new surrounds, I A/B'd them with the 166s, and you all said it perfectly when you described them as "laid back". It really is the type of speaker that you can listen to for hours. The 166 was definitely more "in your face" and "forward" as you all have also described.

I used my reference album for the first listening: Fagen's "The Nightfly". I have using that album as my go-to album for over 25 years...."Gaucho" or "Aja" are a close second.

BMWCCA
12-12-2009, 02:01 PM
I used my reference album for the first listening: Fagen's "The Nightfly".
Digital re-mastered into vinyl? Or full DDD CD?