PDA

View Full Version : L212 sub-woofer wiring?

Jack
12-11-2009, 12:32 PM
Hi all, I'm brand new to this form and need some help with connecting my 1978 powered sub-woofer. I'm trying to incorporate this wonderful, but old, speaker system into my 7.1 home entertainment system. My Onkyo receiver has a RCA style jack for the sub-woofer out, but the input on the speaker is made to receive audio information from two stereo channels. Is it necessary to run jumpers on the speaker inputs to get all the signal input? Thanks in advance.

Jack

rdgrimes
12-11-2009, 02:19 PM
More information please. Are you using the whole 3-piece L212 system? It's designed for the 2 satellite speakers to run off the Ulltrabass, or for all 3 to run in parallel. The Ultrabass should be connected to BOTH the L and R speaker lines in parallel to your main L and R speakers. It will not function as a line-level sub. Although it has been modified to do this in the past.

Consult the L212 owner's manual for more details on connections.

It's really designed to function as part of the whole 3- piece system. If you only have the Ultrabass unit and it's in good condition, consider selling it to someone who only has the 2 satellite units, it's prolly worth some good coin.

Jack
12-11-2009, 03:17 PM
rdgrimes,

Thanks for your response and yes I will be using all three speakers along with several more to complete my 7.1 surround system. I still have all paper work that came with the speakers, including the different wiring methods that could be employed when setting up the three speaker system.
My thought was to use the sub-woofer, being feed from the sub-woofer jack, now supplied with new systems. My new receiver states that all sub-woofer information is sent through the one dedicated jack. I was hoping to simplify the instillation, a wee bit, by using just one pair of wires from the dedicated out jack on my receiver.