PDA

View Full Version : machine gun sound

jblsound
11-22-2009, 05:50 PM
Hello all, I just had a situation come up I've never had happen before.
I started playing an album and about 1/2 way through the first song a loud machinegun sound started coming from the mid-bass driver.

I then turned off the preamp and then turned on again, started alright and then the sound again.

The system; HK Citation pre-amp and power amp and custom speakers with a C-C crossover. The pre-amp was reconditioned 19 months ago, so it should be good.
So would it be the driver or the XO?

hjames
11-22-2009, 07:19 PM
So - swap amp->speaker leads and see if the sound moves to the other side.
If you disconnect just that driver, do you hear the sound in any other drivers in that cabinet??

Hello all, I just had a situation come up I've never had happen before.
I started playing an album and about 1/2 way through the first song a loud machinegun sound started coming from the mid-bass driver.

I then turned off the preamp and then turned on again, started alright and then the sound again.

The system; HK Citation pre-amp and power amp and custom speakers with a C-C crossover. The pre-amp was reconditioned 19 months ago, so it should be good.
So would it be the driver or the XO?

macaroonie
11-22-2009, 07:23 PM
Almost certainly an amp issue , often called motorboating. Get those valuable JBL's disconnected at once until you can ascertain for sure what is up.
Disconnect the pre from the power amp and let the power amp run some cheapo speakers and see if the noise starts up, If all seems well then connect the pre , still on the cheapos and see if the problem kicks off. If it does then your pre needs looked at.
:)

jblsound
11-22-2009, 08:00 PM
Thanks for the replies.