PDA

View Full Version : Anyone runing Altec 19's Active crossover



Dylanl
11-18-2009, 02:20 PM
I found a older Crown 2 way crossover VFX2A and thought it might be cool to run my 19's active with tubes to the top and SS to the woofers.

Has anyone tried this?

FYI: 3 years ago I updated my original passive crossovers with new caps with stock values. Just wondering if I will hear a big difference.

Tom Brennan
11-20-2009, 12:58 PM
The EQ built into the 19s passive crossover is vital to the speaker's' sound; if you use an active crossover and bypass the passive you'll have to compensate somehow for the loss of the EQ.

I think the 19 is one speaker best not bi-amped.

John
11-20-2009, 02:38 PM
Everyone I know that has gone active with the 19's all ended up going back to passive.:o:

My advice, :blah:

low level listening go with tubes and when you want to kick out the jams hook up some big old S.S. amps:D

Zilch
11-20-2009, 03:20 PM
Clone the bridged-T HF comp filter (adjustable 30923) in the M19 XO, five inexpensive parts, and go for it.

Dylanl
11-20-2009, 09:42 PM
Zilch, are you saying use the active or stay with the passive? I am not real savy when it comes to understanding how caps and such work but I can solder quite well. So if you could dumb down how to do it I will give it a whirl.

Thanks, Brett

Zilch
11-21-2009, 03:14 PM
I'm saying use an active crossover to do the basic split at whatever frequency (500 - 1200 Hz) that works best, but add on the passive HF compensation from the M19 before the compression driver.

That's everything after C2, i.e., four resistors, an L-pad used as a variable resistor, and a capacitor.

Dylanl
11-23-2009, 01:10 PM
So essentially its like adding the needed EQ for the horn to flatten out the response.