PDA

View Full Version : 4430 question about proper amping in studio

kallisto
10-07-2009, 07:09 PM
Hello ,
I admit Im a newbie when It comes to amping monitors and mains .. Ive always run powered nearfields and simple amplification of NS 10s ... Ive recently scored a pair of 4430 monitors and will be installing them into my recording studio. I need an amp to power them ??? cant figure out which direction to go?? I produce soul influenced hip hop and want them to " knock " !! My room is 14 x 13 x 11ft high , with another 4 x 8 vocal room ... I also have ns 10s adam a7 for my monitoring but these were purchased to hopefully piss off some studio tenants :applaud:
Would any of you guys who have experience with these in a recording setting have any suggestions ?? Things to consider ........ I need the amp to be fairly quiet , about 600 $ cap on cost ... give or take a few hundred if it really makes that big of a difference ..... I dont care if its a tube or SS just as long as it doesnt color the sound to much ... I would prefer an amp that complement the speakers to have them be as clean as possible.... punchy , deep , clean bass rather than muddy ...
I hope this is enough info for anyone to help out. Your knowledge is greatly appreciated !!
cheers
Oh , another thing.... I hear people talking about Bi amping and using an external crossover . Could someone shed some light on how expensive, difference in sound, and what brands to consider if I decide to go that route ...thanks

daveobieone
10-11-2009, 08:49 AM
I've owned 4430's for a good 20 years now, and still love them.

I've run them with a single amp (with a variety of amps), and also bi-amped. I can tell you, they sound MUCH better bi-amped. My set-up is a re-capped JBL 5235 cross-over, with the proper 4430/4435 cards.