PDA

View Full Version : will l112 fit l65

brad6285
10-02-2009, 01:28 PM
will the woofer, mid and tweeter from an l112 fit in a l65 cabinet? heres my reason i bought a set of l112 that were suppoised to be 9 out of 10 but they turned out to be may 5 to 6 out of 10s. the cabs are not what i expected. the one is seperating along the edge on the bottom and there are some chips and the one coner is broken off. so i cant return the sob wont take them back but there is a set of empty jubals for 250.00 on ebay so iwould just put the l112 speakers in the jubal cab if theyll fit. im new to this so i dont know if itll work. thanx brad

Mannermusic
10-02-2009, 02:33 PM
Hi Brad -

Well, welcome to the club! Been there. Thing is, the Jubals could be just more of the same. Deeper into the mire! I'd say if the L112 drivers are all good, just refurbish the L112 cabs. Wood work is relatively cheap - a lot of folks here have salvaged some pretty sad stuff! For $250 you could even hire someone.

Thing is, the L112 is one of the best small JBL vintage systems. Even if it has a nick or two it's still gonna sound good. No easy answers. :o: Mike

rdgrimes
10-02-2009, 03:08 PM
Yup, I'd go all out on the L112 cabs - nothing to lose there. Epoxy the split edges and fill the chips. Even if you have to re-veneer or (gasp) paint them, you'll still have the intended sound. L112 cabs do turn up on the bay from time to time. The L65 cab is larger than the L112, porting is prolly different too, so the sound will be quite different. Plus you'd have to adapt the L112 XOs to fit in the 65 cab. All in all, not much more work to fix up those 112 cabs. Even if they're ugly, they'll still sound pretty. ;)

mike
10-02-2009, 06:29 PM
Buying a pair of L65 cabinets on Ebay is a risk because it is very likely that they will be damaged at least a little in shipment. That is a nice looking pair though.

Mike

brad6285
10-02-2009, 07:12 PM