PDA

View Full Version : 4350 Crossover Q's

Audionutz
08-31-2009, 08:09 PM
G'day all from down here in Oz.

I have a pair of 4350's and wondered if the knowledgeable souls that inhabit this board would assist .....

I've owned them now for some months - powered by Crown D150 on bass and a pair of Marantz MA-24 30 wpc Class A Monoblocks on the top ends.

Basically, in a fit of exuberance over the weekend and fuelled by a gathering of like minded Audio mates, we tried placing them vertically. Didnt work to my satisfaction, either with tweeters inside or outside on the baffles.

Anyway, having gently lowered them back into a more dignified horizontal position last night, I now find I have an imbalance with the speakers.

Center image is shifted noticeably to one side. Have changed amps, connections, all wiring and power supplies, reveresed amps, preamps etc etc . I keep getting back to the speakers themselves. Now, the other noticeable thing is that the attenuator controls on both speakers seem to have far less effect than previously, when I adjust them. This leads me to wonder if the crossover has failed in some way on one, or both ?

If my conclusion is correct and the problem lies within the crossover, I now have the question as to whether to repair, rebuild to standard, or upgrade completely ? I am determined to maintain outward cosmetics, so no cutting or enlarging of holes.

I'd like to know my options before diving into this and also, what sort of improvements to expect with the varuious choices.

All comments, opinions or ideas greatfully considered !

Cheers

'Nutz

boputnam
08-31-2009, 10:45 PM
I have a pair of 4350's and ...Basically, in a fit of exuberance over the weekend and fuelled by a gathering of like minded Audio mates, we tried placing them vertically. Didnt work to my satisfaction, either with tweeters inside or outside on the baffles.