PDA

View Full Version : Have you refurbed x-overs in your Model 19s?

George Roland
08-17-2009, 06:02 PM
I have a pair of Altec Lansing Model 19s that I have been enjoying for about six months now.

I have been wondering whether or not to have my crossovers refurbished. I would be interested in experiences of other Model 19 owners with respect to the following:
What technicians would you recommend for this work?
How much might it cost to have this done?
What are the audible benefits of a crossover refurbishment?

Many thanks,

George Roland

rgwalker
08-17-2009, 09:05 PM
I have a pair of Altec Lansing Model 19s that I have been enjoying for about six months now.

I have been wondering whether or not to have my crossovers refurbished. I would be interested in experiences of other Model 19 owners with respect to the following:
What technicians would you recommend for this work?
How much might it cost to have this done?
What are the audible benefits of a crossover refurbishment?

Many thanks,

George Roland

George: I used Model 19 crossovers for another 8 ohm project and added a tweeter crossover point but otherwise the caps and coils were upgraded using the original values.

The caps in mine are Solens Fast Caps and the coils are 10 AWG and 12 AWG North Creek Air Coils. These coils might be a little extreme for the Model 19s but whatever you get will be larger than the originals and can be pre-mounted inside the cabinet and attached with connectors.

I'm no tech and I barely understand what I'm doing but I'm good with a soldering iron and I have a musicians ear. I was coached by a friend who suggested the parts, supplied clear diagrams (from this site) and helped me with my parts list. I did it one piece at a time and it took me about 30 minutes to change over both crossovers.