PDA

View Full Version : Olympus C-50 surgery

LikaComet
08-10-2009, 02:26 AM
Hello all,
I have a set of Olympus C-50 speakers that I inherited from my Dad. They have the S-7 set up.

I purchased a set of 077s to add to the system. I wonder what I should do for crossovers?

Also, the surrounds on the woofers need to be replaced. I wish I wouldn't have to recone if a new set of surrounds would do the trick. Any opinions?

Now here is where I possibly loose the bonds of reality. I've always been curious about the C-60 set up with their passive radiators. I'm a machinist by trade so I am accustomed to thinking out of the box so naturally I want to modify my speaker box. I can see a way to cut the front baffle out of the C-50s leaving about a 2 inch lip. Then I would mount the driven woofer and the passive radiator to a 3/4 inch aluminum plate that would be secured to the remaining 2 inch lip of the C-50 front baffle.

I wonder what the sonic difference is between the original enclosure vs the passive radiator set up. Or should I port the original C-50 enclosures. It just seems to me that it is a hit or miss proposition to locate the new port.

Thanks for your considerations, Doug

Mannermusic
08-10-2009, 09:52 AM
Hi Doug -