PDA

View Full Version : Refoaming 128H-1



JSF13
08-06-2009, 04:17 PM
From what I've been able to find out on the board and elsewhere, refoaming 128H-1's may not be as straightforward as some others? Any words of wisdom greatly appreciated.

Tks,
Joe :)

brutal
08-06-2009, 08:13 PM
Measure the cone and provide the correct size to Rick Cobb (looneytune2001 on e-bay) when you order form him.

Follow the directions. If you've done refoams before and know how to do the proper prep work, you're good to go.

opimax
08-08-2009, 09:20 AM
disco Duaneage just did a great job on 2 for me, might see if I can point him to this thread if he has any pointers...

However the above info is what I have been told before...

Mark

duaneage
08-08-2009, 03:49 PM
Well the cone diameters apparently varied so you need to measure. The RC foams for the 128H were a good fit, after completion the drivers FS was good, a little lower than spec but at least not significantly higher. If foams cause the FS to rise you have to break them in for a while.

JSF13
08-08-2009, 04:53 PM
OK Thanks guys.

Joe :thmbsup:

transducergeek
08-13-2009, 08:24 PM
Yeah, there can be variations on some cones used at different times during production runs... They might vary by about 1/4" max... So be sure to measure the cones across...

I have some foams marked "128" but I have others marked "2214" which are larger which fit the 128H better, but were not "supposed" to fit but they did, so check for certain.