PDA

View Full Version : Help on repairing LSR25p

samerag
05-31-2004, 01:13 PM
Hello :

I have bought two JBL LSR25P studio monitors from about three years, they were working fine - in fact they were extra fine - but badly that I have these problem with one of them .

The main cause that I didn't contact the local support in my area this time ( I’m living in Syria ) is that these guys here really know nothing about maintenance and repairing ... I don't know how JBL can work with them as agents.

The first trouble appeared from about one year, one speaker has run out of sound, no sound at all, just a cracks and hisses, I took the speaker to those JBL LOCAL SUPORT guys and they told me that the power amp ICs were damaged, I couldn't trust that ( no way three ICs could be damaged in the same time..). so the only thing I had to do is fix it by myself ( I have some good experience in electronics and repairing), even I knew that I will lost the warranty, and what ?? the problem was in the 10k volume resistance and that just cost me $0.5 to replace and it worked fine. ( the locale JBL guys told my that the cost would be about $100 beside that they damaged the tweeter foil when they shipped the speaker back to me).

Now I'm having this new problem : the tweeter's sound gone very load ( even when removing the line-in cable ), this loudness was just come and go frequently ( sometimes and somehow it disappears when turning the volume high, yet it burned up the tweeter, again I tried to solve this by myself .. but unfortunately I couldn't, and here the steps I took :

First I downloaded PDF’s from JBL’s website, an exploded view and a schematic view for the LSR25p.

I studied the amp circuit well, so can figure out how the signal goes through the main-board and its sections.

I checked the power supply, before and after the power section (the bridging and the regulators) and they all were O.K