PDA

View Full Version : Jbl Mpx 1200/qsc Mx3000



baldrick
03-03-2009, 11:43 AM
Anyone have any experience with the QSC MX3000? (As far as I've read, it's the same amp as JBL MPX 1200?)

I'm consider buying this amp to use on 2 pairs of W12GTI (or a pair of SUB1500 when I find a pair for sale)

louped garouv
03-03-2009, 05:15 PM
i have used the mx3000a on a quad of CV SL36Bs (2 per channel)

baldrick
03-03-2009, 05:27 PM
Is it any good? I know it's quite powerful, but how does it sound? Maybe it's kind of difficult to say since you used it on thoes woofers, but I'm pretty sure it was loud since each woofer is 107db/1w and you have aprox 2,4 kw :)

louped garouv
03-11-2009, 12:00 PM
it sounds good in my application.

i have been using 18db butterworth's for xover slope/type at about 106Hz freq...

this is more of a PA system than Hi-fi though...
:D

(i am using TAD 1601As X4 (2 per side) for midbass in front loaded horns;
jbl 2441 on jbl 2397 for highs, ring radiator tweeter of some type also in use)

needed something that could 'keep up' with the TADs...
and they seem to do pretty well....

i am experimenting with quad 8" EAW direct radiator subwoofers (per side) presently also... if they can keep up, it will free a lot of real estate in my bassment...

:)

JBL Dog
03-13-2009, 02:50 AM
Anyone have any experience with the QSC MX3000? (As far as I've read, it's the same amp as JBL MPX 1200?)

I'm consider buying this amp to use on 2 pairs of W12GTI (or a pair of SUB1500 when I find a pair for sale)

I have two MX3000A's. I use them professionally for Mobile DJ & Karaoke shows (just used one tonight as a matter of fact!). They're really nice, powerful amps.. about 1250 WPC @ 4ohms. You can pick them up for $600 - $800 used. I think the JBL version will cost you more. The only negative is they weigh about 70 lbs. Not an issue if you don't have to move it around. The fan seems to be reasonably quiet.

Good luck!

:D

baldrick
03-13-2009, 03:05 AM
I was planning to buy the MX3000 so I got it home and tried it, but channel B didn't work :( I tried the one channel that was OK and it sounded alright for the money and it had tons of power! It was nowhere near my Crown Studio Reference in sound quality, but it had much more power, so if it had worked OK I would have bought it

timc
03-13-2009, 11:59 AM
Awww.. Thats a shame Baldrick. Any idea what was wrong with it? Could it just be an internal fuse?



-Tim

baldrick
03-13-2009, 12:08 PM
Unfortunately it was not just a fuse. I openede it up and found a 12Afuse that was broken and was hopeing it was just that, but when it was replaced it broke again when powered on. 12A is a lot for one channel so it indicates that the whole channel need to be replace. I can get it from QSC, but it's almost the same price as the whole amp is worth so I won't fix it. So I'll find something else instead when I know what new woofers I will end up with :)

timc
03-13-2009, 01:11 PM
Unfortunately it was not just a fuse. I openede it up and found a 12Afuse that was broken and was hopeing it was just that, but when it was replaced it broke again when powered on. 12A is a lot for one channel so it indicates that the whole channel need to be replace. I can get it from QSC, but it's almost the same price as the whole amp is worth so I won't fix it. So I'll find something else instead when I know what new woofers I will end up with :)


Crown is about to repalce the current I-Tech range with the new I-Tech HD. Maybe you can get a super deal on the "old" one. For sub use it is extremely good.


-Tim

short_circutz
05-24-2009, 02:41 PM
The QSC EX4000 is basically the same thing too. We use one of these at the club I do some tech in to drive the 2x18 cabs