PDA

View Full Version : New Altec VS2421 is amazing little speaker system

cndnc
02-23-2009, 06:10 PM
Warning I am no audio expert but I would like some advice on the Altec equipment.

I recently purchased the VS2421 for my husband who wanted to play his mp3 player at work. It was better than his co-workers docking station by a long shot and we spent so much less for the Altec. It was only 33.00 plus S&H and tax. Co worker demanded I tell him what it was and where we got it.

We didn't want to put something expensive at work just in case something happen to it and this was perfect. I think this would be great for a kids/teenagers room too.

I have had two sets of Altec computer speakers with subs over the past ten years and we really liked them.

I was looking at Altec's site for an inexpensive speaker system like the VS2421 for a small living room that would allow me to send Rhapsody from my computer, connect tv to it and plug in an mp3 player to it. I would like to add more speakers to other parts of the house or outside eventually. We had a JVC bookshelf system in the room before it died but I have to say the new little Altec speakers by far out performed the JVC bigger bookshelf speakers.

The problem with the VS2421 is the connections are located on the sub and they are bare minimum. No extra ports. :(

My budget is small just like the room. We used to have big speakers with bigger houses but they just don't fit anymore when downsizing. The theater systems wouldn't work in the room either. A couple of speakers and a sub would suffice with some sort of receiver. I wish Altec would make such a system that would run about 120.00-200.00. I think this would be very appealing to so many who want good sound, have little space and money.