PDA

View Full Version : Best way to clean/oil my cabinets??

wsilva
05-07-2004, 05:40 PM
I think my L-250 and 240ti cabinets are in a serious need for some TLC (cabinets are in good shape, just never cleaned properly or oiled) I have no experiance with what methods and products are the best way to do this. I tried to do a search for old posts on this but didnt find to much, so please everyone chime in and give me your recomendations. I really would like to hear everyones tips and preferences.

Steve
05-07-2004, 09:09 PM
Aloha
What I have used for the last few years is a product called Feed-N-Wax by Howard..
Got it at a local Home Depot or Lowes.
It works well.
I have tried many different treatments over the years and this I have found works good. I re-apply it about every year or so.
BTW...I am by no means an expert at this.

I know my wife notices the difference when I polish the cabs up.
Sure made a pair of dull drab 4310 cabs a night and day difference.

Steve

HenryW
05-08-2004, 05:47 AM
I clean unfinished wood with water (a little bit is all) and fine steel wool with a denatured alcohol final cleaning. I then stain, fine sand (repeat for whatever depth of color you want) then finish with tung oil, linseed oil or maybe a wax (speakers generally don't serve as a table or high use furniture so i don't go with hard coat finishes).

If the wood is finished and needs a wax and grime removal I go with an orange oil based product (most I have found work decently) If elbow grease is needed I use very fine steel wool. Then a hand polished waxing is my favorite.

If this a ground zero refinish I recommend using a stain that deepens to the color you want after 3 or so coats - In my experience this couple of days on the front side ends up with a color on the wood that seems three dimensional. It is hard to describe, but it seems to add depth.

IMHO only and definitely biased...

Tom Loizeaux
05-08-2004, 02:00 PM