PDA

View Full Version : Amp first or last????



RIGGED
12-04-2008, 06:23 PM
What is the proper method to turn off and turn on a system with a preamp and an amp?



Thanks fellas,

RIGGED

bigyank
12-04-2008, 06:24 PM
I have always turned the amp on last and off first. Has never failed me.

Yank

RIGGED
12-04-2008, 06:57 PM
I have always turned the amp on last and off first. Has never failed me.

Yank


Thanks for the info Yank, I knew there was a method, now if only I can remember that after downing 9 brews.


RIGGED

grumpy
12-04-2008, 07:57 PM
make sure the power amp is off before doing -anything- with the preamp
power switch. (on -or- off)

BMWCCA
12-04-2008, 08:14 PM
Spend a buck-and-a-half on something like this and you won't have to remember the sequence!


No affiliation, just interested:

https://www.carvinguitars.com/produc...product=AC120S (https://www.carvinguitars.com/products/single.php?product=AC120S)

Quote:
The AC120S Power Conditioner/Sequencer is a universal AC distribution control center that is capable of five major functions: (1) 10 stage microprocessor controlled SEQUENTIAL power-up, (2) 10 AC outlets/stages, (3) Voltage spike protection, (4) LED tube rack lighting, and (5) Pure Power dual EMI/RFI AC line filtering. Without question, the AC120S is the most advanced and comprehensive unit providing protection, while making the AC voltage operation of your rack more controllable and failsafe. No rack should be without the AC120S.
http://www.infocomm.org/cps/rde/xbcr/infocomm/Carvin-AC120S-frnt-bck.jpg

Robh3606
12-04-2008, 08:33 PM
Spend a buck-and-a-half on something like this and you won't have to remember the sequence!


Geez man where's the fun in that?? Nothing like a nice loud POP to scare the daylights out of you. You only have to do it once and you will never do it again. Take it from someone with experience.

Rob:)

grumpy
12-04-2008, 08:35 PM
heh... thought of that (sequencer) too, but sounded like change would = beer money :D
(that, and I like my amps plugged into the wall)

Mr. Widget
12-04-2008, 11:41 PM
You only have to do it once and you will never do it again.I knew I was defective...

I've managed to do it about once every other year or so since my first active multi-amped system back around 1979 or so. :banghead:

Depending on the amp, sensitivity of the speakers etc... it can really wake you up! Never damaged anything though.


Widget

Robh3606
12-05-2008, 05:13 AM
Never damaged anything though.


Hello Widget

Do you remember the old Dynaco ST-400?? I had just built the kit and hooked it up to my old Sansui 2000X, which had pre-outs. I did the turn on wrong, the Dynaguard lights came on and I thought my woofers were in the next room. It didn't damage anything either but oh man what a way to start with your new amp.

Rob:D

BMWCCA
12-05-2008, 06:09 AM
I've run Crown amps exclusively for close to 35 years. I've never hooked them up any way other than powered through the power switch of the pre-amp. I've never had any turn-on, or turn-off problems. No blown speakers. No strange noises. This includes D-Series amps (4) as well as the later PS-series (4) which have turn-on-delay protection built-in. I must just be lucky!

I understand what you all are saying and I see how damage is possible, as well as preventable. It must just be a characteristic of certain amp designs and not others. I also realize Big Yank's instructions are the short form of what JBL takes an entire section to point out in every JBL-Urei amp owner's manual:

RIGGED
12-05-2008, 06:53 AM
I've run Crown amps exclusively for close to 35 years. I've never hooked them up any way other than powered through the power switch of the pre-amp. I've never had any turn-on, or turn-off problems. No blown speakers. No strange noises. This includes D-Series amps (4) as well as the later PS-series (4) which have turn-on-delay protection built-in. I must just be lucky!

I understand what you all are saying and I see how damage is possible, as well as preventable. It must just be a characteristic of certain amp designs and not others. I also realize Big Yank's instructions are the short form of what JBL takes an entire section to point out in every JBL-Urei amp owner's manual:


Well, I followed Yank's instructions and everything worked fine. The real test is tonight-it's Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!


RIGGED

toddalin
12-06-2008, 05:01 PM
Geez man where's the fun in that?? Nothing like a nice loud POP to scare the daylights out of you. You only have to do it once and you will never do it again. Take it from someone with experience.

Rob:)

My Crown PSA-2HX pops through the W15GTI sub every time I turn on the system. :jawdrop:

BMWCCA
12-07-2008, 05:26 PM
My Crown PSA-2HX pops through the W15GTI sub every time I turn on the system. You need to get rid of the nasty old Crown stuff. Send it to me! ;)

But really, how it that helped by the turn-on sequence?? It's not, is it.

toddalin
12-08-2008, 12:17 AM
You need to get rid of the nasty old Crown stuff. Send it to me! ;)

But really, how it that helped by the turn-on sequence?? It's not, is it.

The aux power plug on back of the Yamaha turns on the surge protector relay that then turns on all equipment that would normally come on with the system excluding antenna selectors/VCR/Cable box that are always on. But I think the first few moments of the Yamaha are muted and mayby this makes a small pop when it becomes active that is amplified by the Crown.

The thump out of the Sunfire is even bigger than that from the Crown. But that it triggered by the input signal being sensed. Sometime when watching late at night down real low, it will remain off, then trigger to life with a pop on a bass note/transient.

clubman
12-17-2008, 03:21 PM
if anyone is using a driverack unit make sure your amps are off before powering down the driverack....if you dont you will hear a pop like none other.

Amps turned on LAST

Amps turned off FIRST

jcrobso
12-18-2008, 02:55 PM
if anyone is using a driverack unit make sure your amps are off before powering down the driverack....if you dont you will hear a pop like none other.

Amps turned on LAST

Amps turned off FIRST
This is ten time true if your bi-amping!:) John

RIGGED
12-19-2008, 05:40 PM
if anyone is using a driverack unit make sure your amps are off before powering down the driverack....if you dont you will hear a pop like none other.

Amps turned on LAST

Amps turned off FIRST


So far so good fellas, the only poppin I'm hearin these days is from the popcorn machine.


RIGGED

clubman
01-27-2009, 08:12 PM
If you can its also a good idea to roll those gains all the way down before you power down or power up the amplifier.

After hours of use, I let the amps "cool" with no input signal for 15 to 20 mins before shuting them down.

midlife
05-01-2009, 03:25 PM
When I had my Summits connected to a Crown DC 300 it had a amp turn off transient "chirp" that was blood curtling. I learned to run the front mounted gains all down before shut down. Still had a very slight transient, but it was much much less malicious.

pierce
05-08-2009, 11:28 PM
oddly, neither my hafler xl280 nor my adcom gfa585 make more than the most muted -pfwip- when I turn them on or off. even if I stupidly turn the power amp on first before the preamp, there's only a very soft pfffip when the preamp kicks on. i've used both these amps in various configurations to power L100T's over the last 20 years...

paragon
05-11-2009, 02:48 PM
I will start my poweramp last ever and will shut it down first.
This one have no relais and no start delay but there is no "plop" when i switch the start button.

RIGGED
06-19-2009, 12:36 PM
I will start my poweramp last ever and will shut it down first.
This one have no relais and no start delay but there is no "plop" when i switch the start button.

That's a nice lookin Yamaha amp ya have there. I saw one just like it in a pawn shop a while back, didn't get it, still kickin myself for not gettin it.

I think I'll head over there tomorrow............


RIGGED