PDA

View Full Version : Vintage JBL for Home Theater?

dentcorn
09-13-2008, 03:50 PM
I am a newbie here, but I have lurked quite awhile and I have owned a L166 Horizon system for 30 years which I absolutely love. Most of the newer speakers at twice the price do not sound as good to me!
My question is this: We are moving into another house with quite a large rec room and I plan to turn one end of it into a home theater setup. I would like to do this for about 4-5,000$. I was wondering if I could assemble a set of older JBL speakers from Ebay and Craig's list, like use the L166's for Left and right, maybe some Decade L36's and L26's for sides and rear and build a sub from a used 2245H or something similar - or maybe use a pair of Eminence Lab 12's in a sealed or ported box. Or would some Control series work for the sides and rear? And what about a center channel speaker? Or should I juts forget the whole thing and buy something from SVS Audio or AV123? I just love the sound of my 166's and have always been a big JBL fan - the punch, the immediacy, the transparency. Oh, and I would also like somethng that would have a true fundamental around 20-25hz. Is this worth piecing together? Any and all ideas would be appreciated. (I saw some plans somewhere using a 2245 in a 8 cubic foot box that was THX certified...I am 52 years old and figure I'M WoRTH It, but I can't break the bank either..LOL)
Thanks, Kirby
PS Mixing consumer and pro models doesn't bother me.

Mr. Widget
09-13-2008, 04:56 PM
First question... does the $4-5K include buying a projector and screen?

Widget

rdgrimes
09-13-2008, 05:23 PM