PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else using active X/O?

4343mod
09-09-2008, 12:07 AM
Hey all,
Just wondering if anyone else gutted the passive crossovers out of their cabs and went active. The whole HTPC thing has gone far what with multi-channel sound cards that offer configurable 6+ channel out (Lynx, RME, others?) and the few tweakers on DIY Audio that have developed hardware-based crossovers...Me, I'm just a mere mortal and use Behringer DCX2496 boxes.

You are not stuck with those old dried caps and saturation-prone chokes, you know!

I have been all over this in other threads of the past, now I'd like to hear what you have done to get some new with the glorious old. Go Vintage JBL!

Maron Horonzakz
09-09-2008, 07:48 AM
Been doing three way active for thirty years,,, :applaud:

RKLee
09-09-2008, 09:04 AM
I have been doing it since 1975. The sound from an active crossover speaker is so much clearer, to me it is well worth the trouble. I am using 2 Altec 414 woofers for the bass, Altec 806/811 for the mids, and EV T350 super tweeter per cabinet, I am using an ancient DeCoursey crossover with plug in cards at 800Hz and 7kHz with 12dB/octave Butterworth. In restropect, I should've use 18db/octave.

louped garouv
09-09-2008, 09:30 AM
i am cobbling together another all active system...

subwoofers are two dual 8" EAW boxes per side
(they are EAW SB-48s)
woofers are Altec 406As with passive radiators in a Bolero Box
upper mids are Altec 802-8G on McCauley lens horns
tweeters are JBL 076 and 075

Here's the configuration for the crossover i am going to use...
it's a vintage model EQR5 from a company called
Sound Environments in NJ, i figure circa mid to late 70s vintage

Input Section is:
20Hz HP @ 18db/OCT to Sub-Bass
20Hz HP @ 12db/OCT to Full Range

Output sections are:
Sub-Bass; 106Hz LP @ 18db/OCT - Normal
+4.5db Boost @ 43Hz w rapid cutoff below - EQ Active
Front Panel Control: Unity Gain @ 12 O'Clock. +10db at full CW rotation. Full off at CCW.