PDA

View Full Version : 121A vs 2203H sub with BX63A

subwoof
04-10-2004, 06:24 PM
I stumbled on a NOS C8R121A kit and was amazed at the size of the mass ring!

Here is a picture comparing the 2235H (35gm) with the 121a (95gm).....

SO I was wondering if I would be better off using the kit without the ring in a 2202H basket I have here ( and then creating a 124A / 2203H )

OR

Using the mass ring and making a ferrite version of the 121A.

Any thoughts? I have plenty of power and a BX63A to process it with.

Although it was designed for a special alignment with the 2235 or 2245 BUT the 2203 is the same beast but a smaller diameter...

sub

4313B
04-10-2004, 08:01 PM
For what it's worth, I have extensive experience with the 121 and the 124/2203.

"SO I was wondering if I would be better off using the kit without the ring in a 2202H basket I have here ( and then creating a 124A / 2203H )"

The only differences between the 121 and 124/2203 are the mass rings (95 grams versus 35 grams) and the stiffer suspension of the 121. You can't build a true 124/2203 from a 121 kit. G.T. and I recently revisited this and came to that conclusion. He suggested cutting the 121 spiders in the kits to loosen them but I'm not real wild about that.

"Using the mass ring and making a ferrite version of the 121A."

The 121 and 124/2203 came in alnico and ferrite.

"Although it was designed for a special alignment with the 2235 or 2245 BUT the 2203 is the same beast but a smaller diameter... "

The 124/2203 has significantly lower Qts and Fs compared with the 2235 or 2245. It's a real killer. It yields a response that might not work with the BX63. I'll have to get back with you on that.