PDA

View Full Version : What model VOTT are these?

oldsoundz
07-08-2008, 05:47 PM
I have searched the library as well as google and a bunch of threads on this forum and cannot find a pair that look like these.

Any help is appreciated...

CONVERGENCE
07-08-2008, 06:23 PM
They look like upside down Simplex. The horn would be on top.

These are very old simplex . I don't know all of their models. Some were even bigger than the ones you have.

RacerXX
07-08-2008, 06:31 PM
I'm not an expert, but they look like upside down A7 or 825 cabinets that have been modified. The casters look like an afterthought, and the brace across the flare of the horn is unusual. Never seen any Altec cabinets like that and I've looked at pretty much all of them. Here's a great site that has an incredible amount of photos of Altec speakers:

http://www.wardsweb.org/audio/voiceofthetheater.html

Go to "Speakers" and click on "Altec Gallery".

oldsoundz
07-09-2008, 08:43 AM
Thanks for the input folks. That gives me some direction. I didn't consider the thought that they could be upside down.

I will keep looking...

CONVERGENCE
07-09-2008, 03:55 PM
I don't want to drag on with this thread but I found a picture of old Altec Simplex speakers inside a theater.

Hope this will help.

RacerXX
07-09-2008, 04:37 PM
Ah........ I saved that picture, zoomed in and.......... maybe it's me, but those do not look like similar cabinets. The flare of the horn in the photo he posted looks much narrower (width-wise) than the one in the Altec / Simplex set-up. Over the years, I've seen other Simplex cabinets too (on the "Unofficial" Altec site), but never ones that resembled the first picture in this post. Aren't those just wings on the sides and bottom in that theater photo? Just guessing.......:blink:

oldsoundz
07-09-2008, 04:54 PM