PDA

View Full Version : Well... I'm sold !

xr600
05-26-2008, 10:57 AM
To make a shhort story even shorter...

... I never really cared much for JBL speakers. Always thought they had boomy bass, and ear tiring highs. As a musician I have recorded in several studios, which had JBL's as mid-field monitors... These always sounded 'ok' but a bit en the dull side (as studio monitors tend to do...).

Well, a few days ago I went to buy a second hand poweramp... So, this guy wants to demo the amp on a pair of JBL's, and I'm thinking... Well ok.

But damn !!, those speakers just blew me away... I basically loved everything about them, especially their dynamic cababillities (ok with a 2x200watt 8 Ohm / 2x400 watt 4 Ohm amp what do you expect ?!).Those speakers were offcourse a pair of 212 (I thin kthey are called ?!). Two floor-standers and a sub.

Well, the thing is that I just can't get those speakers out of my head. However I do not have the space or the money to own a pair of 212's, but I was considering if there is an 'alternative' vintage JBL speaker, which has the same dynamic capabilites and general well balanced sound ?!... Perhaps one that would not mind being wall mounted ?!...

As mentioned previously, I don't know much about JBL's, as I never cared much for them... So I am pretty much blank. I have looked and found a pair of reasonably priced L96's, but I'm not sure how the sound would match up with the 212's ?!?... Any advice from the experienced ?!?.

Regards.

Torben

xr600
05-26-2008, 02:48 PM
Well, Maybe I should have a look, and see if anyone has a pair of those in a price range I can afford...

... But what other models are 'worth' owning ?!... L96 ?, L100 (seems to be a classic). In other words, what models would soundwise and in terms of dynamics come close to the 212 ?.