PDA

View Full Version : Altec Horn unit 1005 model, fake or real and green or black?

MJP
04-07-2008, 07:44 AM
I am a potential buyer of one seller in my country for Altec horn 1005. I have some questions to ensure before buying as follows:
1) He said this horn unit is in BLACK (not Green). Any difference in quality of sound and material?
2) How can I detect whenter this 1005 horn unit is real or fake?
3) I already have woofer 416-16Z, is this woofer going well with 1005/288-16G/N500f?

I have very little knowledge and experience. :(Please help.

Thank You in advance for the answer,

MJP

Earl K
04-07-2008, 08:51 AM
http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/altec/catalogs/1978-pro/page12.jpg

I have very little knowledge and experience. Please help.

Thank You in advance for the answer,

- You're welcome .

- Hopefully you're aware that this forum has a huge library that includes Altec & JBL catalogues ? Info from the Altec library (http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/altec/altec.htm) combined with all the info gleaned from eBay, can easily help you determine if the mentioned 1005 horns are real or fake .

1) He said this horn unit is in BLACK (not Green). Any difference in quality of sound and material?
2) How can I detect whenter this 1005 horn unit is real or fake?
3) I already have woofer 416-16Z, is this woofer going well with 1005/288-16G/N500f?

(1) Color doesn't matter except to an interior decorator . To the best of my knowledge, Altec didn't sell multicells that were painted their special Altec green. Dark Charcoal or battleship grey > yes / but not green. Old horns get painted / that's just the way the world works .
(2) Real or Fake ?
- Make sure these prospective horns are made of metal ( not some indonesian hardwood ) and covered in the proper sound-damping material ( Aquaplas ) .
- Look for the 1005B label on the horn under the paint.