PDA

View Full Version : 2404H crossover help

sekess
03-19-2008, 04:28 AM
Hi,
I'm relatively new here and had a question on a project I'm just getting started on. Here is a quick overview of what I'm doing:
Currently, I'm using a 2-way setup (Altec 416-8C with an Altec 802-8G-511) with a passive xo at 1200Hz.
My plan is to eventually go all active -- subwoofer to 416 (or a JBL driver - more punch) to 802 (or JBL driver(maybe 2445) and horn) to 2404H tweeter. So, eventually I would like to have a 4-way fully active system. I'm doing this in stages.
The step I'm at right now is setting up an active xo at 500Hz (maybe 800Hz) for the 416 to the 802 -- should be done in a few days.
Also, I have a pair of 2404H's coming. Eventually, when I get another amp, I will cross these guys actively as well. But in the mean time, I'd like to hook them up with a passive xo just to get the 2404H's in the system.

So, my question is for the following setup:

3-way system: 416-8C to 802-8G to 2404H

-- 416 to 802 - actively crossed at 500Hz or 800Hz -- no problem here.
-- 802-8G to 2404H - passively crossed at around 6kHz or so -- this is where I need some help.

I was thinking about going with a 2-way simple 12db crossover at 6kHz - lowpass to the 802-8G and highpass to the 2404H. I guess I would probably need an L-Pad on the 2404H to match the levels.

1. Does this sound like a good way to go?

2. Does anyone have a schematic with values for the crossover components? Or at least point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance,
Steve

spkrman57
03-19-2008, 10:18 AM
1 ufd oil cap in series with the 2404 tweeter.

I use that for most horn tweeters if the midhorn is padded down to approx 97 - 99 db.

It brings it in mostly above 10khz.....

Ron

sekess
03-19-2008, 10:50 AM
Hey Ron,

That's all I would need -- just a 1'st order highpass on the tweeter and a pad on the midhorn? Sounds nice and simple.

So, I wouldn't need a lowpass section to the midhorn?

Thanks,
Steve

spkrman57