PDA

View Full Version : what to do with a pair of D131?

c3conv
03-18-2008, 08:26 PM
HI, I am a newbie when it comes to JBL. I was able to get hold of these Signature series D131. I have fostex driver on tqwt boxes with el 84 tube amps. What suggestions can you give for boxes to use these JBLs. Open baffle is alright with me too. Will they be an upgrade from my fostex? I listen mostly to jazz and classics. thanks in advance.

speakerdave
03-18-2008, 10:11 PM
You don't say what Fostex driver you have (and I'm not familiar with them anyway) but chances are that, for hi fi, the move to the JBL D131 is retrograde.

Here is a pamphlet for the 2130, a later, professional equivalent. It shows a frequency response curve of the driver in a closed 6 cubic foot box:

http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/jbl/specs/pro-comp/2130.htm

And here are the pages of a '70's enclosure construction kit. You will find dimensions and baffle layout for 5 and 8 cu ft boxes for that driver.

http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/jbl/plans/1970s-kit.htm

Or you can use one of today's box design programs.

For open baffle I can't help you; should be an interesting experiment, but I believe the result will be further emphasis on the already-emphasized midrange.

To me owning the driver is matter of nostalgia, as it is with the 075. They are unbelievably efficient, dynamic, impressive. But they are tiring after a while. Back in the day some folks used them for hi fi, though the D130 and D123 were much more common for that. I believe the D131 was targeted to a market for simple, low power PA, SR and MI applications where limited space did not allow the box size the D130 requires, although JBL later recommended the same-sized enclosures for both. It's sound of the fifties all the way-- a time when the mere fact of hi fi was a source of endless fascination and the standards applied for satisfaction were nothing like they are today.

David

c3conv
03-18-2008, 11:35 PM
thanks for the info.