PDA

View Full Version : New capacitors and adding bypass capacitors for L166A

Jeff W.
02-20-2008, 04:55 PM
Greetings to everyone and thanks for all the helpful information here. I am new to owning JBL speakers, but not to vintage audio. I had the good fortune to purchase a pair of L166A's locally that needed some restoration. The surrounds were shot and so my first order of business was to replace them. I also cleaned the pots. Those tasks are done and I am really enjoying these speakers! FYI: I purchased the surrounds from Parts Express #260-978. These are listed for the 2214 12" woofer. The ones they list for the 122A (#260-974) do not fit. My assumption is that they fit the first version of the 122A that came in the L166. If yours have the 9-3/4" diameter cone get the ones I purchased and they will fit perfectly.
Now I would like to replace the crossover capacitors and am interested in the suggestion in one of the posts by Techbot regarding the addition of bypass capacitors. He specifically mentions that the L166 (among others) can benefit from this. Would some of you please make recommendations for specific capacitors to replace the standard 8uf and 4uf in addition to what value should be used for the bypass capacitors. My preference would be to source them from Parts Express since I work one exit away from them and get their wholesale discount as well. However, if there are significantly better alternatives I'm open. My crossover network is the N166-1. Thank You, Jeff :)

Mannermusic
02-21-2008, 06:49 AM