PDA

View Full Version : Reconing a D130 for Guitar Amp



Bluezman
02-18-2008, 01:17 PM
I recently purchased 2 JBL D130's and one is blown. I want to recone it and use it in my Fender Vibroverb Guitar amp.

First question,

Will it sound as it did once reconed ?

Where can I buy a JBL recone kit for it ?

I also read somewhere that reconing it with the D140 kit will hace better bass response . Can anyone offer some advice or insight to this?

I greatly appreciate any advice,

Thank you all.

hardtime
02-23-2008, 08:17 PM
You didn't mention how much power your amp has. The D130 has more out put per watt than the D140, may be twice as much. I would stay with the D130. I used to use the D130s when I played bass. I switched to D140s and had to up size my amp.

Allanvh5150
02-23-2008, 09:47 PM
As a guitar player and amp builder I would say stick with the 130 recone kit. Although I dont really like JBL's for guitar, they dont breakup very well, the 120 and the 130 were unmatched for a pristine clean sound. The 140 was designed for bass and as such, does not have the right top end for guitar. The response of the 130 is roughly 50Hz to 6000Hz, the 140 is 40Hz to 2500Hz. The 130 is 105 db SPL and the 140 is 100 db SPL. So the 130 is way louser. I am not sure if you can buy the recone kit yourself, JBL usually only sells to authorised service centers. Unless the speaker has been seriously overloaded in its time and the magnet has lost some of it's magnetism, your speaker will sound as it did when it was new. Unlees you have done a recone before, I would recomend that you spend a few extra dollars and get the job done by a proffesional. Best of luck.:)