PDA

View Full Version : Westlake TM1/TM3 clones

cooky1257
12-21-2007, 06:12 AM
Hi all,
I'm a noob on here and having searched high and low without finding exactly what I need thought it time to ask.
http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19137
I recently picked up these of eBay, they sound great, have some nice Clash and Smiths history but are in need of some TLC;
4x2231a, 2 x2440, 2x2397's, 2x2405's, 2 x3105 xovers and a 5234 active xover.
Not bad for $700.
The cabs need some lovin if I'm to be allowed to keep them(WAF).
I intend to replace and/or double up the front baffle with some nice grained 'finished' plywood and utility satin dark grey the rest.
My main question is regarding the driver layout, in the TM1 and TM3 the UHF is much closer to the mid horn and this is an ideal opportunity to reposition things if it would be beneficial.
Could any forum members give me the benefit of their experience in this regard?
As a confirmed big Tannoy user since a lad I'm quite enjoying my move over to the dark side;-)
Thanks

speakerdave
12-21-2007, 09:16 AM
If it were I, I would not try to improve on Westlakes's system compromises--driver selection, crossover point, baffle layout--unless I had identified some specific aural problem and could pinpoint its source. That is, if it ain't broke . . . .

Nice score--Great Score! I wouldn't mess with revising or strengthening the baffle board. You've got a monster monitor there that will really put out the sound, made by people who knew what they were doing. Make 'em pretty, if you must, and hook 'em up.

Also, I've had no dealings with Westlake, but again, if it were I, since it's a small company that cares about its work, I'd contact Westlake and tell them what you've got there; tell them what you have in mind, and ask them if they have any advice or information about that specific speaker they could share with you. (But don't plague them with a lot of worry and elementary questions.)

Have fun!

David

Andyoz