PDA

View Full Version : 3107 crossover question

gtxdude
12-01-2007, 08:50 PM
Hi guys! I have been lurking around here for a while and have enjoyed and been amazed at what a wonderful resource this forum is. I worked as a recording engineer back in the late 70’s and early 80’s and began my life long love of JBL products. One of my most lingering memories was a room I used to work in that had a pair of 4350 monitors. You could track for 20 hours straight, at any volume, with those monitors without a hint of hearing fatigue. They were the sweetest, warm sounding monitors I have (to this day) ever heard. I vowed that one-day I would own a pair of those monitors. Then life happened: marriage, kids, career…

(Fast-forward 25 years) I now have the time, money and resources to make that dream come true. I have undertaken the construction of a replica pair of the 4350 monitors. Thanks to you guys and the storehouse of JBL legacy information available here I have found everything needed to complete this task. My eternal thanks to all of you! Please, keep up the good work.

I have secured all of the components necessary to build the monitors on ebay, with one exception: the 3107 crossover networks. They have been very hard to find (for me). After some thought I decided to build a crossover network of my own using modern components which should improve the performance of the monitors too boot.

I have attached a PDF detailing what I have built and the components used. I would invite any comments or constructive criticism on my 3107 knockoff design.