PDA

View Full Version : AS101/Valencia upgrade/repair

djeickme75
11-07-2007, 12:42 PM
I recently picked up a pair of AS101 speakers. I am new to the vintage audio world and have some questions about upgrade/repair of these units.

The cabinets and drivers seem fine. Most of the questions revolve around the electronics.

1) Upgrading the caps in the crossover
Someone has already done a partial replacement of the caps but I don't know when and the quality of the replacement caps is marginal. I have not yet measure the origanl caps but I suspect based on what I have already read on the forum that they probably have drifted significantly. I have an original a manual on the way to confirm the original values for the caps but it seems from what I can tell that there is an 8uF cap and a 10uF and an 11uF in parallel to give 21uf cap. This would mean that I need an 8uF and a 21uF (or a combination of caps to give 21uF). I contacted Parts Connexxion and they suggested Mundorf Silver and Oil (the second from the top Mundorf cap, with the Silver and Gold being the top). Has anyone had any experience with these caps in vintage Lansings? How about any of the other contenders like Dueland, other members of the Mundorf line, modern production Jenson caps or Audio Note copper caps (the silver are interesting but the price is completely out to lunch)?
2) Internal wiring
I suspect that the original hookup wire is also a little past its prime. I am thinking of replacing with silver hook up wire (I already use homebrew silver interconnects in my system and am looking at switching to silver speaker cables as well). DH Labs has an appropriate hook up wire or I could use the braided silver wire that Home Grown Audio sells for interconnect purposes. Anyone with experience using silver wiring for the internal crossover to driver conections.
3) Damping the 811B horns
This has been done to death so I won't ask anything further about it
4) Moving the crossover external