PDA

View Full Version : Need L-212 Help

snerty
10-24-2007, 08:22 PM
Newbie here with lots of questions. :blink:
Trying to save some L-212's (sadly missing sub):
What type of paint was used on the speaker box faces? (rubberized?)
Is it safe to coat peeling 066's with aluminized paint?
Was the foam on the 112 A's originally grey?
Who sells the best after market foam replacements?
What is best for 112 A's: refoam using test tone (9-V battery) or cutting dust cap and using shims?
Is it worth the loss of originality to change L5-9 inverted dust caps to aluminum?
:blah:
I'm sure you've answered these questions multiple times and appreciate your patience & help.

grumpy
10-24-2007, 08:49 PM
Is it safe to coat ... 066's with aluminized paint?

Apparently JBL thought so.

speakerdave
10-24-2007, 09:06 PM
. . . . Was the foam on the 112 A's originally grey? . . . . .

If you are asking was it originally lansaloy cream--no, it was not.

. . . . Who sells the best after market foam replacements?
What is best for 112 A's: refoam using test tone (9-V battery) or cutting dust cap and using shims? . . . .

We get them from Rick Cobb, and he will include a CD with a 30 Hz test tone. It is the method I've used, and it seems to work for me. There's an illustrated step-by-step somewhere in these forums.

. . . . Is it worth the loss of originality to change L5-9 inverted dust caps to aluminum? . . . .

I don't know.

David

brutal
10-24-2007, 10:25 PM
... Rick Cobb, AKA looneytune2001 on ebay...

snerty
10-24-2007, 10:39 PM
thanks for the help folks. Just want to clarify the 066 question. :) Somebody recommended testors aluminized model paint to take the place of the missing vapor deposited coating. The tweeters work great as-is, so I do not want to screw them up if the paint trick doesn't protect or prolong their life span. Just being paranoid:screwy:

speakerdave
10-24-2007, 10:48 PM