PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie with a question....

Balderdash1
10-20-2007, 06:59 PM
Hello all,

First let me say how much I love JBL!

Though I've been lucky enough to collect some pretty cool recording gear through the years, I haven't made much headway in the home audio side of things..

I've read through the forums here pretty extensively and have not only learned a lot but have been amused and entertained as well!

My first official question for you: a pair of fair condition Altec A7's have recently caught my eye...What is the general consensus on the sound of
these guy's, and what are they going for money wise these day's?

Thanks,

Balderdash1

Rusnzha
10-20-2007, 11:03 PM
They are very efficient and dynamic, but lacking in bass. I never tried it with mine (many years ago) but they might really be cool if you got a good subwoofer to use with them. Maybe something like a JBL 2241 or 2242. Sorry I can't tell you much about the going rate on these. Welcome to LHS, there's a lot of good knowledge here.

Zilch
10-21-2007, 01:52 AM
http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=10471#post10471

timc
10-21-2007, 01:56 AM
Welcome to the forum!

Balderdash1
10-21-2007, 05:11 AM
Thanks for the welcome and the link!

Thom
10-21-2007, 09:06 AM
If you could match them properly to a subwoofer and have a large room they would probably be impressive. They are impressive anyway but have little bass and can be hard to listen to.

Zilch
10-21-2007, 02:13 PM
Bass is not the only problem, Thom. The HF needs "Fixing," too....

Titanium Dome
10-22-2007, 11:37 AM
They are very efficient and dynamic, but lacking in bass. I never tried it with mine (many years ago) but they might really be cool if you got a good subwoofer to use with them. Maybe something like a JBL 2241 or 2242. Sorry I can't tell you much about the going rate on these. Welcome to LHS, there's a lot of good knowledge here.