PDA

View Full Version : 414A 16 ohm vs. 414-16C

djgaloot
09-29-2007, 11:13 PM
I have asked this question on another forum but I wanted to get a more definitive answer. I am new to Altec speakers so please bear with me. I am putting together a version of a 9844 and have a 406a driver and 811 horn as well as the 800hz XO. the 12 inch drivers from this system were 414-16Cs. I do not have these, but rather, have a pair of 414A 16 ohms. Will these match together okay? I am concerned about a possible difference in magnet material or speaker parameters. Attached are two pictures of the drivers:

414-16C
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n270/djgaloot/414-16C-1.jpg

414A
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n270/djgaloot/414a-1.jpg

They look different but the info I received so far is they are both Alnico. Correct? If not, is there a negative consequence of using the 414As with the 9844 XO which used the 414-16Cs?
Thanks for setting me straight!
Dave

speakerdave
09-30-2007, 08:25 AM
. . . . the 12 inch drivers from this system were 414-16Cs. I do not have these, but rather, have a pair of 414A 16 ohms. Will these match together okay? I am concerned about a possible difference in magnet material or speaker parameters. . . . . They look different but the info I received so far is they are both Alnico. Correct? If not, is there a negative consequence of using the 414As with the 9844 XO which used the 414-16Cs?

The parties with the deep Altec lore will probably be largely the same in all the forums. The literature and considerably authoritative testimony say that the "C" version is Alnico. You can probably tell by comparing the weight to known Alnico versions. A ferrite magnet to create the same field would need to be measurably heavier.