PDA

View Full Version : Internal wiring on L100A is incorrect

Hal
08-09-2007, 10:24 AM
Internal wiring on L100A is incorrect
Yes I am a newbie and a mechanical thinker.

A few years ago, I "cleaned up" my L100's with N100 x-overs. I cleaned and lubed the L-pads with DeOxit and installed new binding posts and 12 gauge wire. I suspicion that I did something wrong with one of the pair even though they sounded better than before (L-Pads I am pretty sure). I bought a test DVD and the two JBL’s sound partially out of phase with each other is why I think I screwed up. Reversing the leads doesn’t exactly clear it up either which makes me think that I tried to “fix something that wasn’t broke” inside and have possibly the mids out of phase.

I have the Schematics for the N100's and have read tons of information here, which I appreciate immensely. I may be under some wrong presuppositions regarding the wiring of speakers and JBL’s in particular.

My old assumptions:
RED= +
BLACK = -

Yet I know in house wiring that Black is hot and white is common.

Power flows from amp/receiver out the RED post and comes back to the black post. If I want to put a resister in series to attenuate (going from instructions), I put it on the +/RED side.

Capacitors can be wired either way like a resister; I am thinking this is wrong.

Now I question the basics and from reading here, I now understand the L100 have a different polarity from the “standard” up until sometime in the 80’s.

BEFOR I REBUILD MY N100 crossovers wrong, I would like to know these things please:

I am using Clarity Caps. They have a black lead and a red lead.
I have the parts express L-pads

I am looking at the L100A/N100 Schematic

The RED binding post connection show the reversed arrows (that I would think means return path and not positive).
This changes to a green wire on the solder strip of the N100 and goes to the RED binding on the 123A (Right?)