PDA

View Full Version : Newbie DIY Surrounds

Hal
08-07-2007, 02:55 PM
Hi, it's with fear and trepidation that I ask these questions on this auspicious site.

I am a pretty good woodworker and general fix anything type guy. (If it’s not broke, I can fix it!) I’ll be replacing a color wheel in my DLP TV soon.

I have a pair of L100’s form 1976 BX purchase in Japan. I bought them as used and repaired. They have N100 x-overs. 123A LR (-1’s I believe). LE 5-2 MR’s and one had an LE25 2 and the other an LE25. The LE25 had some cone damage. I recently replace both of them with 2 Epay LE25-4’s and they sound better matched. I have new Pots and Clarity Caps to freshen up the N100.

I also have 2 more LE25-4s that I planned to use in a new center or surrounds. (There is no room for 3 more L100’s )

Here’s my thinking:
Center with 1 (0r 2) LE5’s and one LE25
Rears 1 LE5 and 1 LE25
I have 2 good LE25-4’s, 1 good LE25-2 and 1 fair LE25. I do not as of yet have any Mid Ranges. A question is will LE5-10’s or 12’s sound similar enough to voice match the 100’s? I can find them cheaper than LE5-2’s.

Cabinet wise, the L100’s have the LE5-2’s in their own enclosure and the LE25’s don’t require any specific size box, so I was going to build some boxes with a baffle to hold the drivers and size the MR section to the same as the 100’s. Build x-over’s like the N100 without the two wires to the LR and the rest the same, 2 pots and 2 capacitors.

Now be gentle and tell me whether I am on the right track or not.
Thanks!

Robh3606
08-07-2007, 04:20 PM
Hello Hal

Center with 1 (0r 2) LE5’s and one LE25

Le-5's don't go low enough. Take a look at the matix it might answer some of your other questions.

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5706

Rob:)

Allanvh5150
08-07-2007, 11:26 PM
Hi Hal,