PDA

View Full Version : 375 question

anzafrank
08-05-2007, 11:46 PM
I have a system that i'm trying to sell, and a so called buyer came to look, and we both noticed the screws on the 375's didn't have the factory seals (red glue?) I bought the drivers, short horns, slant plates, and 075's new in 1978 from an electronics store in so. cal.

My question is how could the seals be missing when i'm the only owner? Also, back in 1980 i put a HL-89 horn in one cab. just for kicks, and the driver stuck out the back of the cab a few inches. To seal it, i used wood filler. Now you can see where the filler was. Is that a big no no? Do the drivers have to be spotless and pristine?

I think this guy was looking to steal the speakers, (he offered 1500) but what bothers me is the lack of factory seals. The drivers have never been worked on, and i bought them new! Help!

Frank

Storm
08-05-2007, 11:50 PM
Why do you have all that weight load bearing down on the speakers like that?

I am no JBL expert, so the seal question -- I have no clue.

Are those lenses supposed to be like that? Why are they touching / overlapping, the edge of the woofers?

;)

-Storm.

anzafrank
08-06-2007, 12:19 AM
are one piece. The bottoms were for storage, and i turned them into speaker enclosures to save space. They workrd out to be about 3.3 cu. ft.

As far as the lenses being turned up side down, they seem to throw the sound up as the speakers are close to the floor. It not only worked, it worked great.

As far as the lenses overlapping the woofers, i had no choice as there is only so much real estate on the baffel board. The lenses are on stand off's as to not touch the woofers. The whole thing was a nutty idea, but it worked even though it looks a bit goofy.

Frank

Storm
08-06-2007, 12:31 AM
May I ask then, what forces the sale?

If you enjoy them -- why sell?

;)

-Storm.