PDA

View Full Version : Compatibility question

Max SPL
06-04-2007, 11:48 AM
I just joined this site last night, and I think I'll be spending a lot of my free (non listening) time here reading.

I have a pair of JBL 4311As, and I just purchased a pair of 4311Bs from eBay. I haven't been able to find much literature on the Bs. I plan to run both pairs together with my Crown CE 1000. Does anyone know if there is a difference in sensitivity between the two? Are the crossover frequencies close enough that I won't have any phasing problems? Both pairs will be placed horizontally, one atop the other. I'm also considering another CE 1000, so I can run them both bridged.

I absolutely LOVE the 4311s. I was a live sound engineer for over 20 years, and I rarely used (or liked) anything other than JBLs. One band did have a pair of Gauss 15s that would handle anything. They were loaded into folded horn cabs. They could handle all the power from a Crown PSA-2 I could give them.

I'm also using a dbx 231 EQ and Aphex 204. A Lexicon MPX 110 gives TV programs a little space. My preamp is a Behringer mixing board, which I want to replace with a Soundcraft (preferably a 200B). I balanced the outputs of the TV with DIs, and the whole system is low impedance.

And, yes, I like it loud. Thanks in advance for your replies !

Robh3606
06-04-2007, 12:14 PM
Hello and welcome to the site. They should be similar enough so you can do what you want with them. Watch the impedence running pairs it can drop quite low. The differences will mostly be changes from alnico to ferrite conversion.

Rob:)

http://manuals.harman.com/JBL/HOM/Technical%20Sheet/4311B%20ts.pdf

4313B
06-04-2007, 02:59 PM
Expanding on Rob's original post:

Component complement of 4311A and 4311B:

http://www.jblproservice.com/pdf/Systems%20Reference%20Charts/Studio%20Monitor%20Series.pdf

Note the listed network models, 3112A and 3112B.

Looking further on the JBL Pro website - network schematics of the two systems: