PDA

View Full Version : Tube amps that can be hooked up to TVs?

Storm
01-28-2007, 10:04 PM
Does anyone know if there are Tube Amps or receivers that can be hooked up to TV's, Tivo, CD players, turntables, etc?

I am interested in tubes, but I use my speakers for everything and dont want to purchase additional speakers just for tube use.

Thank you for any of your help, it is greatly appreciated.

Can I hook up tubes to an existing receiver?

Sorry, I am new to the tube thing.

;)

-Storm.

Shane Shuster
01-28-2007, 10:40 PM
Just hook the tube amp to the pre-out jacks on the back of your 3380. Then connect your Valencias to the tube amp.

A lot of guys like low powered SET tube amps, I think they are questionable on anything lower than about 105db 1w/1m speakers. I'd personally stay away from the under 10 watt amps with Valencias given their sensitivity. Depends how loud you listen to them though.

Storm
01-28-2007, 10:51 PM
What tube amp should I get? Do I only need one or two?

Thanks!

I have heard it will tame the horns on the Altecs, is that true?

-Storm.

Shane Shuster
01-28-2007, 11:11 PM
What tube amp should I get? Do I only need one or two?

Thanks!

I have heard it will tame the horns on the Altecs, is that true?

-Storm.

If its a mono amp you need 2, if its a stereo amp you only need 1.

Taming horns with tube amps... kind of but not really. You can match up a certain tube amp with a certain speaker and get the interaction to act somewhat like an EQ. I would argue that you are not changing (taming) the speakers physical characteristics but just Eq'ing the frequency response a bit.

Do you use your Tivo, cd players ect through the 3380? I would think getting a mid range receiver ($500ish) would be a better bet. You could use the digital output of your newer devices. The mid range receivers have better DACs which usually sound better than the analog outs of things like cable boxes, game systems and cheap dvd/cd players.

Storm
01-28-2007, 11:28 PM