PDA

View Full Version : Mike C's day job

Mike C
12-31-2003, 08:28 PM
Hi guys, thought some of you may be interested in I do to finance my JBL fetish!!
I build automotive race engines for a living, the engine in the pic is our 2004 spec Superstock smallblock Ford. The engine makes a little over 1000hp and 700 ftlbs of torque at over 8000 rpm. The engine will sell for approx $80'000 AU.
Bo and Ian check out the blue ( VHT Ford competion blue ) now there's a nice baffle colour.....................
Mike.

4313B
12-31-2003, 11:42 PM
Very cool! Do you build Chevys or Mopars as well?

Mike C
01-01-2004, 12:32 AM
Hi Giskard, happy newyear mate!. Yes we build some Chevs as well mainly for the speedway, Mopars arn't that common over here Chrysler got a pretty bad wrap over here after their efforts in the 70's. I do a little on a roadrace viper for a mate and I must say its a good ride ( we got it out on the back streets one night ) the same guy owns a copo Camaro 69 model its also very fast.

Oldmics
01-01-2004, 02:45 AM
HUMMMMMMMM,Aluminum heads,tunnel ram and some serious mig or tig work on those valve covers.Whats up with the welding on the valve covers-extended for clearance for roller stuff?How bout the heads-airflow stuff?Gawd I miss those days of cubic money!!!!!!!!!

Oldmics

Mike C
01-01-2004, 04:39 AM
Hey oldmics, I thought this pic would filter out the petrol heads among us!!! The cylinder heads on this thing are SC-1 ford castings CNC ported in the states by Bennet Cylinder heads and they flow over 420 cfm @28" the camshaft has around 1" lift. The valve covers are custom made as with the sheetmetal intake. The heads are so highly modified there are no manfolds or covers avalible that will fit. The compression ratio is set at 16.00:1 Drooling yet ? can't say too much the enemy may be listening ( I wonder if their into JBL's.... I hope not ) Thanks for your interest.
Mike.......

boputnam
01-01-2004, 08:45 AM
:scoot: :yes: !!

Steve
01-01-2004, 12:17 PM