PDA

View Full Version : Urei 813C

lpd
01-16-2007, 09:18 PM
I picked up a pair of Urei 813C's for $650.00. The cabs are rough but can be resurrected with a little tlc. Any opinions on these. I didn't realize how big they are.

david yost
01-17-2007, 08:25 AM
Hello there:

I have 3 of them and use them LCR in my HT rig. I think they are fantastic, very efficient and smooth sounding. The downside is the dispersion which is fairly narrow and limits the sweet spot, but no more so than most good CD horns. Although I have limited experience with the rest of the 813 monitors, I think these were the best and were the last of the TimeAlign series.

You will probably need to use a good sub with them, as despite the 2 15" woofers, the response goes away fast below about 50Hz.

Best wishes,
David

Mr. Widget
01-17-2007, 09:24 AM
If you two haven't seen this thread, you should check it out.

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=12303

Widget

Andyoz
01-17-2007, 10:18 AM
You will probably need to use a good sub with them, as despite the 2 15" woofers, the response goes away fast below about 50Hz.

I assume that is due to the designers assumption that they will be soffit mounted with the resultant gain in low-frequency output.

So, instead of fixing up the cabinets...hide the cabinets by soffit mounting :D

lpd
01-17-2007, 01:19 PM
Hey I've noticed most applications have them mounted up about 3 feet off of the ground with the horn on the bottem. Is there any problem having them on the floor with the horn driver on top?

david yost
01-17-2007, 02:32 PM
Thanks, Widget:

There is a link that shows up towards the bottom of my page titled something like "Mystery studio monitor" which has some very good historical data about UREI and the 813.

Best wishes,
David

lpd
01-17-2007, 03:39 PM
If you two haven't seen this thread, you should check it out.

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=12303

Widget

Yowzas!!! Well I've got a way to go. :D

doodlebug