PDA

View Full Version : Impedance Curve for LE85?

coherent_guy
11-21-2006, 09:16 PM
Hi folks, I have a pair of LE85's with 2370A horns arriving soon (my first ones) and I've been trying to locate an impedance vs frequency graph for the LE85/2420 driver. That would be for selecting component values for a crossover. I have been unsuccessful in locating this information. Is that because the impedance is dependent on the horn used with the driver? I'm new to using compression drivers and trying to learn the ropes, any suggestions would be appreciated, Thanks!

Zilch
11-21-2006, 09:47 PM
Different horns introduce different anomalies in the basic impedance curve, yes.

If peaks occur in the crossover region, you may want to deal with them.

I'll measure a few LE85s on 2370As for you to compare sometime over the next couple of days.

Consider purchasing Woofer Tester II for these pursuits. :thmbsup:

Robh3606
11-21-2006, 10:35 PM
Hello Coherent Guy

I would measure the DCR on them to see what you get. There is no guarantee that they still have the original diaphragms in them. They could have 8 ohm diaphragms in them as opposed to the original 16 ohms. The 2370's are a modern Biradial that approximates the dispersion pattern of the 2308 lense used in the classic large format monitors but are much more uniform with their high frequency coverage than the horn/lense combo. With no HF comp they will roll off above 5K or so but you can drop a small value cap in series to improve that a bit.

http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/jbl/specs/pro-comp/2370/page1.jpg

Rob:)

coherent_guy
11-22-2006, 07:35 AM
Zilch, I greatly appreciate your efforts performing and posting those measurements. I read Mr. Widget's thread on Horn/Driver comparisons, and about the only thing it did not have were impedance measurements for the LE85, although that was not the purpose of his study.