PDA

View Full Version : Subwoofer suggestions?

QwertyAccess
11-09-2006, 12:05 AM
I'm currently using L100T's which are rated at 35-32 freq response, I love the speakers! but, im currently looking for a subwoofer since i dont think they are really designed to play really low frequencies in the first place, which probably isnt safe for the speakers of that era (I Dont like the thought of woofer excursions poping out of the cabinet like some kids these days :P, unless its designed to like stuff these days) I have no idea, but i would imagine i would have the subwoofer handle the frequencies below 80?
Im going for a 12" subwoofer with line level in/outputs preferably, (unless i find some crossover)?. Its also nice, since im a huge movie watcher as well as music listener.

I'm a high school student so my budget is low (part time job worker), I hope to get the best bargain i can possibly pull off, I could live without a subwoofer, but alas im tempted very much & often :P I've been looking at the S120PII, which does look nice?. The limits i'd probably stretch at spending would be around the 200+- (low as possible, unless it is really worth it :P) I love JBL & Audio :D, but my age (15) limits my income, and ability to do certain things. I think i'll stick with JBL equipment though as far as speakers are concerned. I'm the type that usually waits for a good deal to come by, so this could be a long or short hunt.

Any comments and suggestions? :D on side note, I dont think I have any plans in trying to construct a speaker cabinet, I often have a hard time appreciating any artistic constructions my hands put together :P. Premade cabinet doesnt sound too bad, but in any case doesnt sound like any money saving in that venture. I live in California, Orange County area so I try to take advantage of my location if possible :P

northwood
11-09-2006, 01:42 AM
Hi my buddy