PDA

View Full Version : Rack mount hardware or system: What do you use?



BMWCCA
10-30-2006, 02:02 PM
I hope this is the right spot for this question:
I've enjoyed seeing postings of various members' system but it seems many of you have the same problem as do I; lots of stuff, stacked up wherever! Those of you who have your systems racked, what system, erector-set, or in-cabinet hardware have you found that worked for you, carried the weight, and (if a stand-alone) looked good doing it? I'm looking for an affordable rack or the hardware to build rackability into a cabinet, shelf, or closet space. Might be needed for new construction at a later date, too. Ideally this would include a hinged rack that would swing out for access, or designed into the wall or closet to allow access from behind. Rack on wheels might also work, depending on what I can afford and space ("...the endless frontier"). This would be mostly to hold Crown D-Series amps and a Crown tuner, and Soundcraftsmen pre-EQs and tuners comprising three-to-four systems. I'm looking for something that would allow flexibility and frequent swapping. What do you use and do you have sources/links/photos? Of course all systems will be pushing JBL speakers.
Thanks! :idea:

toddalin
10-30-2006, 03:36 PM
Not a rack mount per se, but...

I designed this cabinet so the three "columns" are 19.25" allowing the use of rack equipment. The glass doors, then the lower panel come off and the shelves can slide out. I can then stand up within the cabinet, behind the equipment to wire it up.

Not only do the shelves slide out, they are adjustable up and down to allow for different sized equipment.

The unit was made of Formica covered MDF and the legs below the bottom panel are 2"x4"s.

http://www.largescaleonline.com/eimages/lsolpics/Team_Member_Pics/toddalin/room5.jpg

http://www.largescaleonline.com/eimages/lsolpics/Team_Member_Pics/toddalin/room6.jpg

boputnam
10-30-2006, 05:05 PM
I'm looking for something that would allow flexibility and frequent swapping. What do you use and do you have sources/links/photos?Long ago went to a conventional, industrial 19-in rack. On casters. In the pantry. Another in the office/studio where even the gear that doesn't have rack ears is stacked - here I have a patchbay for the never-ending trailing and patching.

The eons of stereo shrines that dominate a family room are long-gone, IMO. College tricks. Once you get it outa sight, you can't believe it ever WAS a shrine. It's also pretty easy once you get the gear outa sight to preserve some WAF for the on-going gear upgrades... ;)

I'll try and take some pics of both. Horribly industrial, I assure you...

Fred Sanford
10-30-2006, 05:31 PM
I'm moving, and will be using mostly 19" racks and maybe some big, rolling bread racks when re-assembling at the other end. Our unfinished utility room will be the home for most of the gear, at least the stuff we don't need to touch & feed media into.

Take a look at http://www.middleatlantic.com/ even if just for ideas. Check out the AXS and SRSR systems for inventive solutions.

Here's some of the JBL gear for a system we installed for a client in NJ, see what you think of this ;) :

http://tinyurl.com/y96mvb

je

BMWCCA
10-30-2006, 06:21 PM
Take a look at http://www.middleatlantic.com/ even if just for ideas. Check out the AXS and SRSR systems for inventive solutions.Now that's nice stuff, especially this one (http://www.middleatlantic.com/enclosure/roll/asr.htm):
http://www.middleatlantic.com/images/irande/ASROUTWARROW.jpg

I'm afraid to research the price but thanks for the link! :applaud:

alexkerhead
10-30-2006, 07:14 PM
I am a vintage audio person, minus the CD player and DVD player for obvious reasons.

I haven't had the patience to get everything situated yet, so I will update the images when I can.

UreiCollector
10-31-2006, 06:31 AM
I'm using Middle Atlantic shelves in my theater. The quality is top notch, and the final product looks great! As for the mounting rails, I just used a couple of loose rails and mounted them straight to a 2x4 frame, and then set that frame into the wall. Once the frame was set, and walls were painted, I just put up some trim to dress it up nice. Simple. :)

The rack is mounted into closet space, so I can access the rear of the rack by simply walking into the closet.....much less complicated than using a sliding rack....and far less expensive!

HipoFutura
11-01-2006, 12:26 PM
I'm interested in the topic as well, and started a similar thread several months ago. Unfortunately I have yet to find what I consider the "perfect" solution. I'd like to see a single integrated system that provides rack mount slots as well as shelves. And of course it has to be beautiful! Stainless, chrome, smoked glass, rose wood; who knows! My quest if further complicated due to the fact that my Phase Linear gear does not conform to the standard 19" rack. May end up building something.

Don

doodlebug
11-01-2006, 09:13 PM
Now that's nice stuff, especially this one (http://www.middleatlantic.com/enclosure/roll/asr.htm):
http://www.middleatlantic.com/images/irande/ASROUTWARROW.jpg

I'm afraid to research the price but thanks for the link! :applaud:

I know a local millwork house that has 3 of those pull-and-spin rack systems - or something similar that they have used to build in audio components. They typically do the whole interior and have to deal with that sort of thing. The supplier provides the hardware and they then engineer them into whatever cabinetry they're installing.

If there's interest, I'll check with them to get the product details. Mind you, this stuff is intended for the cabinetry market not the consumer.

Cheers,

David

moldyoldy
11-03-2006, 01:09 PM
Pretty good info here, standards, dimensions, etc.;

http://plans.thefrankes.com/Tutorials/rackrails/

Robh3606
11-03-2006, 05:03 PM
I use a combination of Pro racks and a converted garage sale special audio rack. My main system is triamped and I have EQ's on the 3 front channels. There are 2 active analog crossovers and a Behringer 8024 for RTA use. I ended up stacking two cabinets to get the rack room needed. Racking made all the difference. I would never have been able to stack it and have it work well.

Rob:)

Robh3606
11-03-2006, 05:07 PM
This is my 2 channel Biamp rack. This was a $15 garage sale pick up by my wife. It fit 19" rack gear so I took out the shelf and the bottom LP rack and added the rack mounting bars from PE. I think I have about $30 in the cabinet and it works great.

BMWCCA
11-03-2006, 06:15 PM
This is all very helpful information, and some great systems. But allow me to ask one question off the topic.


Robh3606: Do you figure the PS-200 and the D150A-IIs are about equal or how do you use/compare them in your system?

Anyone know anything about this company that made this small portable rack system? I can't find anything about it: Hammond Industries (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=007&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=170043518269)
http://image.i-soldit.com/images/0197/101970002078/101970002078_03_03.jpg

Fred Sanford
11-03-2006, 07:08 PM
I've got a Yamaha demo unit rack that looks similar to that one:

http://tinyurl.com/ymxl22

I use it in the studio, PA & monitor amps/xovers/eqs on the bottom, guitar amps/bass amp/FX at the top. 20 RU. If you want another pic of it empty, PM me with your e-mail address.

je

moldyoldy
11-03-2006, 08:26 PM
.....Anyone know anything about this company that made this small portable rack system? I can't find anything about it: Hammond Industries (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=007&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=170043518269)....

You Betcha!;

http://www.hammondmfg.com/

Well-regarded company.

Robh3606
11-03-2006, 08:26 PM
Robh3606: Do you figure the PS-200 and the D150A-IIs are about equal or how do you use/compare them in your system?

Hello BMWCCA

I think the 200's sound a bit better up top. The D150A-IIs are powering the 2235's in the biamp set-up. The PS 200 runs the top drivers of the 4344 clones. I use PS-200 for the E-145's, 2123's and 2435's in the active set-up. The Le-14 subs use PE plate amps. I have another D150A bridged for the center channel 811C clone. Both amps work for me.

Rob:)

matsj
11-05-2006, 09:07 AM
I canīt post my pictures here. Can someone help me?

regards mats

Zilch
11-05-2006, 10:43 AM
http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=817

matsj
11-19-2006, 10:12 AM
Here is my picture, iīm not the best on pictures :) .

Hoerninger
11-19-2006, 10:53 AM
Mats,

great stuff, your collection of speakers as well.
The roof - vintage stuff? ;) (oldie but goodie)
____________
Peter

Don Mascali
12-07-2006, 08:19 PM
I have just finished putting together this;

Don Mascali
12-07-2006, 08:27 PM
Sorry about the double dip but I couldn't figure out how to put text below the pic.

Any how, They threw a large power conditioner away at work and I saw that the width was perfect for a double width rack to allow a low fit below my projection screen. With some stolen AOHell rack rail and some blood (literally) sweat and tears, here it is.

Left side amps power a 5 way front L/R set and the two on the left bi-amp the center that sets on the rack. Power strips and cross overs are the rest.

JBL 4645
06-16-2007, 03:56 PM
Don

Wow thatís a beauty and I see a few DCX2496 in that rack, and Yamaha amplifiers. I was wondering like most, in what way have you designed the amplifier layout with the DCX2496?

I plan to do a similar thing to yours, but take it even further with x1 DCX2496 controlling x3 Alesis RA300 for LCR and maybe five-screen JBL Control 5 at a later date, so that would involve x1 more DCX2496 and x2 Alesis RA300.

x1 DCX2496 controlling the sidewall and centre back surround with, possible x3 Alesis RA300, yes in bi-amp mode, tell me if this a little over the top.


x1 DCX2496 for the height surrounds and sub bass extension and LFE.1 with x1 Alesis RA300 powering the height surrounds and x1 Alesis RA500 powering the JBL 4645.

I think the above is correct, I need a secretary!:D

Plus x1 more Alesis for the back half surround that is played with the sidewall surrounds only when in split-surround mode only, when its set for centre back and height surround along with the sidewall surrounds, Iíll turn off the back half!

All of which will be rack mounted to give it that professional look without the need of dangling wires and cables behind it. So Iím looking at close to x4 racks and thatís just for the rest of home cinema equipment.

jim campbell
06-16-2007, 04:13 PM
Here is my picture, iīm not the best on pictures :) .what kind of voltage/amperage/frequency is the grid in sweden?

matsj
06-19-2007, 12:23 AM
We use 230volt 50hz . I have 3x16Amp fuses as input to my apartment.

mats