PDA

View Full Version : 4412 CROSSOVER MOD FOR BIAMP



R Beardsley
09-24-2006, 11:24 AM
In my home theater, I am thinking of using my three 6230's into the three 4412's as biamped using the left and right channels. Attached are the standard JBL crossover schematic, and one that I modified for this purpose. Don't know much about electronics, but would you guys be kind enough to tell me if it's this simple?

Zilch
09-24-2006, 03:16 PM
Yup, that simple.

BUT #1: Once you get into how the stock crossover board is laid out, you may find that separating the LF vs M/HF is not so straightforward. I haven't looked to verify, but anticipate that could be a difficulty.

BUT #2: I build all of my DIY with separate LF and HF sections like that, but it doesn't accomplish much. It's not biamp in the true sense of using an external active crossover, which is where the real performance gains may be accomplished, rather, more like biwiring, particularly if you're using two channels of the same amp to drive each speaker. When I drive in this configuration, it's 6260 doing the lows and 6230 on the highs.

BUT #3: You're talking 4412's here. It's not massive high-current woofers in the mix which might benefit more from this reconfiguration.

Bottom line: Leave them 4412s as-is....

Robh3606
09-24-2006, 03:45 PM
That's not biamping, to biamp them you need an active crossover to make the transition between the woofer and midrange. Just dividing the crossovers and running the amps with the same signal won't really give you the benefits. If you decide to go active you have to know what the voltage drives are for that portion of the crossover. You are better off leaving things the way they are and just bridging the 6230's.

Rob:)

R Beardsley
09-24-2006, 05:48 PM
Please forgive my lack of audio vocabulary, regarding the use of "bi-amping". I was going to bridge these, but was told here (some time ago) that bridging was not the way to go on my subs.

Zilch
09-24-2006, 06:04 PM
Unbridged 6230 has plenty enough (75W) to run 4412s, no?

R Beardsley
09-24-2006, 07:37 PM
LOL, Well, if it isn't, I have a couple of 6260's that will! What would I run the center cannel with then, a 6215? :) The 3 6230's split with H/Mid freq and LF seemed like a good balanced combo. Maybe I'm complicating this too much. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Robh3606
09-24-2006, 08:13 PM
Well I am totally confused now:applaud: . Were you trying to use one channel of the 6230 to run the woofers and one for mids and tweeter??


What would I run the center cannel with then, a 6215?

No!!! Run your center with the same or one of the larger amps if you can. Over 50% of your audio is there last thing you want to do is run it underpowered.

As far as plenty of power?? I always ran my L100's with about 200 watts. They never flinched and those 4412's should easilly be able to handle that. Depends on the size of the room and your max SPL. 75 watts is fine but don't worry about running more into them. After the first hundred watts it all headroom anyway.

Rob:blink:

scott fitlin
09-24-2006, 08:22 PM
Please forgive my lack of audio vocabulary, regarding the use of "bi-amping". I was going to bridge these, but was told here (some time ago) that bridging was not the way to go on my subs.You have the amps, try bridging them and see if its for you.

R Beardsley
09-24-2006, 09:28 PM
LOL Sorry. Here is what I'm thinking of:
Starting with the source, I have built a media center computer with a DAL *CardDeluxe* (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190034038334&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=009)
(hoping I won't have Dolby or DTS "pass thru" issues with this card)
This provides a balanced output to my Anthem AVM30
My 2 2245 subs are powered by 1 JBL 6290 (not bridged)
My front L and Center are JBL 4412's which I can run from 3 bridged 6230's - if that is a good way to do it.
my (2) surounds and (2) rears are 4410's, which I would run with 2 6260's
I have all of this on hand. Does that sound like the way to go?
Sure is a lot of stuff .....why did I do that? :D

Zilch
09-24-2006, 09:47 PM
Your surrounds and rears don't need 6260 power. Run them on 6230s.

Run your L/R mains on one 6260. That's 150W per side.

Run your center on 1/2 6260, or bridge it to bring harmony to the universe.

Send the spare 6230 to the Zilchster.... :D

Robh3606
09-24-2006, 10:05 PM
What Zilch said. That's one nice set-up!!! That should be lots of fun!!

Rob:)

R Beardsley
09-24-2006, 10:46 PM
Thanks Rob. This has been almost 2 years in "evolutionary flux", and it is finally coming together. I'm almost finished, and will post pix when finished. I wanted a larger screen for the sound, and now I'm fixing the sound for the 120" screen LOL. I appreciate you guys helping me