PDA

View Full Version : JBL L-110 vs. JBL L-112

LARM
09-20-2006, 11:08 AM
Hello,

I am just getting into vintage audio equipment. I purchased a vintage Marantz 2215B receiver a week ago and have it hooked up to my JBL L-40's. It sounds wonderful, but I'm thinking I might need more of a kick in the speaker department.

The stereo exchange near me has a set of JBL L-110's in good shape for $399, and he also has a pair of L-112's in perfect shape (owned by a guy who bought them in Okinawa and didn't use much) for $499.

I am going to have one of these pairs hooked up to the Marantz 2215B and a Harmon Kardon T-60 with a new Grado cartridge.

Which do you think is best for me? Do the L-112's justify the $100 difference? Are the L-110's a steal at $400?

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

edgewound
09-20-2006, 11:52 AM
Hello,

I am just getting into vintage audio equipment. I purchased a vintage Marantz 2215B receiver a week ago and have it hooked up to my JBL L-40's. It sounds wonderful, but I'm thinking I might need more of a kick in the speaker department.

The stereo exchange near me has a set of JBL L-110's in good shape for $399, and he also has a pair of L-112's in perfect shape (owned by a guy who bought them in Okinawa and didn't use much) for $499.

I am going to have one of these pairs hooked up to the Marantz 2215B and a Harmon Kardon T-60 with a new Grado cartridge.

Which do you think is best for me? Do the L-112's justify the $100 difference? Are the L-110's a steal at $400?

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

They're both marvelous speakers. One caveat is that tweeter diaphragms are currently no longer available for either model.

The kicker will be to decide if you can part with the extra $100. The perfect L112's would be my choice...but they're both nice.

LARM
09-20-2006, 11:59 AM
They're both marvelous speakers. One caveat is that tweeter diaphragms are currently no longer available for either model.