PDA

View Full Version : JBL 4435 Setup Help

JoeStrange
09-04-2006, 11:04 AM
Hey guys,
I was fortunate enough to find a pair of near mint JBL 4435's recently,They had been refoamed in the past 5 years and are ready to rock.

Now I have never setup anything like this before...Im a recording engineer not a tech,But this job has been thrown on me so I gotta come up with anwsers for the studio owner. I purchased 2 Crown k2's to power the 4435's and I want to bridge each amp which I have no idea how to do.

I also need to know what gauge speaker wire im looking for and what I need to bridge each amp. I was looking at canare 14 gauge? Am I in the ballpark?

So again heres my 2 questions simplified:

How do I bridge 2 Crown K2's to power the JBL 4435's (1 k2 a side)

What speaker cable should I be using? IE. Brand and Gauge.

Zilch
09-04-2006, 12:03 PM

What speaker cable should I be using? IE. Brand and Gauge.The K2 manual doesn't tell how to connect them bridged?

Frankly, I cannot conceive that 4435s would require that much power. Look at the specs for recommendations. I'd just take one of the K2s home. ;)

Wire? Unless its a run more than 25', it's Radio Shack 14 ga. here. Your amp manual will have recommendations for different lengths, most likely....

speakerdave
09-04-2006, 12:13 PM
Hey guys,
I was fortunate enough to find a pair of near mint JBL 4435's recently,They had been refoamed in the past 5 years and are ready to rock.

Now I have never setup anything like this before...Im a recording engineer not a tech,But this job has been thrown on me so I gotta come up with anwsers for the studio owner. I purchased 2 Crown k2's to power the 4435's and I want to bridge each amp which I have no idea how to do.

I also need to know what gauge speaker wire im looking for and what I need to bridge each amp. I was looking at canare 14 gauge? Am I in the ballpark?

What speaker cable should I be using? IE. Brand and Gauge.