PDA

View Full Version : Soundcraftsmen MA5002



John
06-12-2006, 12:24 PM
Just picked this up. Anyone have any experience's with this amp or Soundcraftsmen??? Also does anyone have the service manual on hand.

grumpy
06-12-2006, 02:03 PM
No manual here. Can buy them online (~$20). Soundcraftsman made some good stuff
early on, and made quite a name for their higher-line EQ's (I have one tucked away
somewhere). The meters look cool compared to the later LED bargraphs (just my pref).
Listened to a later model hooked up to very nice speakers (L100T, Ohm F, ...)
and was not dissapointed (this -was- quite a few years ago). If this is the rail-switching or
sliding bias unit, it might be tricky to work on, so I hope it works... they were just down
the road a bit from me, but they're long gone. 'bout all I can spew on this (you asked) :)

-grumpy

terryblulite
06-13-2006, 08:27 PM
Talk to "Bully" at AudioKarma forums-He is probably listening to the same thing as we speak.PS-I have Soundcraftsmen PM840-I like yours better!:applaud:

John
06-13-2006, 08:48 PM
Thanks guys. I found this unit when I was picking up a pair of 4333,s. I thought of asking the seller what he used for power when he last used the 4333,s ? He pulled out the Soundcraftsmen amp and said it worked when he last had the system up and running 5 years ago. He offered it to me for $150. I asked if we could plug it in to see if the power light works and it did except for the back lighting on one VU meter. I said I'll take it even before the seller lowered the price to $125 due to the faulty VU meter light. I have not had time to try it out yet but did open it up and blew out a small amount of dust and poked around. Everything looks good with no burn marks anywhere. I have no reason not to believe it will make tunes. One thing I would like to change is the input jacks which are 1/4" jacks. Would like to install some good quality RCA jacks. It is a really good looking unit. I think I was at the right place at the right time.:bouncy:

Thanks to the forum member who hooked me up, He knows who he is.:applaud:

Regis
06-14-2006, 06:32 AM
I picked up one of these exact amps for a buddy, who's using it to drive his 250 Ti LE's. Soundcraftsmen was based in Santa Ana, California and they built some nice amps. They used MOSFET's and accordingly, the sound is warm. It was a good amp for the day, but the newer MOSFET amps with torroidial transformers and updated designs have a definite edge over the older ones. Still, if it's what you've got, you'll like it nonetheless.

Mike Caldwell
06-14-2006, 07:19 AM
Hello
Nice find!
I would leave the 1/4 jacks in place and use some good 1/4 to RCA cables. The 1/4 jacks maybe balanced using the tip ring sleeve type on connector. If it is it's not a problem to plug in a standard tip sleeve 1/4 jack.

Mike Caldwell

Mr. Widget
06-14-2006, 10:09 PM
Anyone have any experience's with this amp or Soundcraftsmen??? I have a couple of the half rack width PM860s and a PM840. There are also PCR800s and possibly a couple of other model numbers for these amps. They are all rated at 200wpc into 8 ohms and 300wpc into 4 ohms. I have no idea what is the difference between the various model numbers of the seemingly identical amps. I think they were very optimistic in their rating but they are decent amps... I liked the sound better than the Flame Linear 400 and SAE 2600 that I had when I first picked up one of these amps... They are not great sub amps as they seem somewhat current limited. Your amp is physically twice the size... maybe it has more reserve capacity in it's PS.

Here is a site with more info:

http://www.soundcraftsmen.com/

Widget

John
06-15-2006, 12:51 AM
Thanks guys for all the info and links.:applaud: I got this test sheet with the unit as well.

L100t Owner
06-16-2006, 08:11 PM
Thanks guys for all the info and links.:applaud: I got this test sheet with the unit as well.

I have a Soundcraftsmen amp that I bought new in 1989. I used to to drive 4 ohm subwoofers for years. I seem to remember it being rated at 375 watts at 4 oms at clipping. It delivered a good punch. It is in storage. I plan on using it for HT use.

QwertyAccess
07-02-2006, 05:43 AM
I have a soundcraftsmen EQ, they make nice things, its a real shame that MTX bought them out and basically killed them :(

spkrman57
07-02-2006, 08:27 AM
I bought 3 pairs(comes 2 to a pack RS#274-320) for around $4.50 a pack(1 pr). They are decent enough to use and easily available.

Then you could use your preferred cables with them!

Hope this helps!

Ron;)



Hello
Nice find!
I would leave the 1/4 jacks in place and use some good 1/4 to RCA cables. The 1/4 jacks maybe balanced using the tip ring sleeve type on connector. If it is it's not a problem to plug in a standard tip sleeve 1/4 jack.

Mike Caldwell

Titanium Dome
07-02-2006, 09:49 AM
I bought 3 pairs(comes 2 to a pack RS#274-320) for around $4.50 a pack(1 pr). They are decent enough to use and easily available.

Then you could use your preferred cables with them!

Hope this helps!

Ron;)

I use the same adapters on some recently acquired Hafler 600W/ch pro amps with balanced outputs, and they work fine.

My equipment includes many pieces of Soundcraftsmen:
4 PCR800 amps
1 S800 amp (in road case)
2 A200 amps
1 A400 amp
1 Pro Control amp
1 A2502 amp
2 RP2215-R EQs
1 AS1000 analyzer/EQ
1 AE2000 analyzer/EQ
2 DX4200 auto-bridging preamp EQs
1 Pro Control Four C-MOS Digital Preamp
1 T6200 tuner

and the old EQ/test LP that I still use when calibrating a system for a turntable.

hunterdog61
04-07-2010, 01:22 PM
Just picked this up. Anyone have any experience's with this amp or Soundcraftsmen??? Also does anyone have the service manual on hand.
I have two of these amps, GREAT amps, trying to find out if they are bridgeable using the soundcraftmen a1-b bridgeable adapter.??
thanks
hunterdog61

hjames
04-07-2010, 06:00 PM
I have two of these amps, GREAT amps, trying to find out if they are bridgeable using the soundcraftmen a1-b bridgeable adapter.??
thanks
hunterdog61

Gee guy - this is the third thread you've asked the same question in ... maybe ask once and be PATIENT ... surely someone will get back with you at some point. But its considered rude to repeatedly keep posting the same question over and over again - its like spamming a forum!

Patience, Mr Frodo ...

Ken Andrew
05-09-2010, 05:23 AM
I had this amp powering my 4315 for about 7 years. It does not have a cooling fan which was rare for a super amp in those days. I thought it was class H. 250W RMS normal plus 125W extra for headroom. Never gave me any trouble until the mains transformer died one day. The shop said it was designed for 220V, not the 240V which we have in Australia. Consequently life was reduced.

I can't remember the sound quality being in any way exceptional but it was certainly loud enough for my needs and did the job.