PDA

View Full Version : 250ti Classic Does not rock!

AdamimAdam
05-26-2006, 07:59 AM
:( Ok so ive only owned these speakers for 1 month, I quickly bought a Hafler DH500 with 250w per chan. along with a kinergetics chiro c-800 for a preamp. The highs and mids are amazing, the lows are rumble???? but they sure dont shake anything, Id venture to say I get more Sound Preasure from the snare drums over the mids then I do the LE14h-1's. I tried wiring them opposite -/+ to no avail and no real difference really. One is refoamed nicely the other nearly ready for it. From all I have read they arent supposed to be boomy and Im new to the audiophile game but shouldnt they shake me a little?

JuniorJBL
05-26-2006, 08:27 AM
Sounds like room or placement issues. What is the size of your room and where are your speakes placed?

You can also do a search for placement and see what some of the other members have done.

Robh3606
05-26-2006, 09:07 AM
I use LE-14A's as subs. The H's are even better and I can rattle my fillings loose with them with the right program material. They do just fine so something is up. Placement as well as phase are the most likely culprits.

Rob:)

GordonW
05-26-2006, 11:02 AM
Hafler DH500 is definitely not my choice for an amp for these. IMHO, the DH500 and P500 have "emaciated" power supplies... incapable of the current output that a LE14H-1 needs, to do bass well. I've even seen small HK integrated amps spank Hafler DH500s, on high-current-draw situations... the Hafler would just "lose it" on bottom, while a little 50w/ch HK amp would just "pound away"...

My suggestion? A beefier amp, such as an Aragon 4004 or 8008, Harman-Kardon Citation 22, NAD 218THX, Crown DC300A, or the like. Then, watch the pictures rattle on the walls... :D

Regards,
Gordon.

AdamimAdam
05-26-2006, 11:45 AM