PDA

View Full Version : D120F's

jonarobb
05-12-2006, 11:03 AM
Hey All,

Brand new to this forum but not to JBL's. I'm a guitarist using a 1970 Fender Twin Reverb. The original gray frame D120F's are still in this amp. Looks like one of them might have been reconed due to one of them having a paper cap and the other a heavily oxidized and rusty aluminum cap.
My question is, I want to bring these back to spec, reconing, etc... and I'm looking for practical suggestions.

Should I send them to JBL? They quoted me $162.00 per speaker. I'm concerned because I don't want any modifications done. I'd like the speaker to end up as if it was just the way it was designed.
Should I have one of these reconing places do it?

Thanks for reading my post!

SMKSoundPro
05-12-2006, 01:45 PM
I have been reconing JBL professional speakers for over 25 years. The shop I worked in and ran specialized in Fender amp refurbishing and hot-rodding.

I have literally reconed thousands of 120s, and I believe that it is best to have a JBL approved reconing service do the job with real C8r120 kits, or c16r120 kits for two in parallel.

I sent a E120 with a ferrite magnet to JBL Customer Service because of a shifted pole piece. They said it was not shifted? and reconed and sent it back. It is in perfect shape from the factory and sittng here as a spare for my 4602a Cabaret monitors. All told though, I have got over $350 in that one speaker.

The point is to STAY AWAY from aftermarket 120 kits. I think they are the wrong tool for the job.

Good Luck.
Scott.

edgewound
05-12-2006, 01:58 PM
I have been reconing JBL professional speakers for over 25 years. The shop I worked in and ran specialized in Fender amp refurbishing and hot-rodding.

I have literally reconed thousands of 120s, and I believe that it is best to have a JBL approved reconing service do the job with real C8r120 kits, or c16r120 kits for two in parallel.